Victims of Crime Act (VOCA)


This grant provides funding to non-profit and public agencies (including state and local governmental agencies, universities and community colleges) interested in providing services that do not duplicate services provided by another agency in the same geographical location and are in compliance with grant specific requirements. Eligible organizations include victim services organizations whose sole mission is to provide direct services to crime victims. These organizations include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Sexual assault and rape treatment centers;
  • Domestic violence programs and shelters;
  • Child abuse programs;
  • Centers for missing children;
  • Mental health services;
  • Other community-based victim coalitions and support organizations;
  • Criminal Justice Agencies – Law enforcement agencies, prosecutors’ offices, courts, corrections departments, and probation and paroling authorities are eligible to receive VOCA funds to help pay for victims’ services.
  • Religiously-Affiliated Organizations – Organizations receiving VOCA funds must ensure that services are offered to all crime victims without regard to religious affiliation and that the receipt of services is not contingent upon participation in a religious activity or event. Faith-based and community organizations will be considered for awards as are other eligible applicants and if they receive assistance awards, will be treated on an equal basis with all other grantees in the administration of such awards. No eligible applicant or grantee will be discriminated against on the basis of its religious character or affiliation, or religious name. Faith-based and community organizations are required to abide by the same regulations and requirements specifically associated with the program under which they are awarded a grant, as any other agency awarded funding.
  • Hospitals and Emergency Medical Facilities - Organizations must offer crisis counseling, support groups and /or other types of victim services.
  • Others – State and local public agencies such as mental health service organizations, state and/or local public child and adult protective services, state grantees, Native American Tribes/Organizations, legal service agencies and programs with a demonstrated history of advocacy on behalf of domestic violence victims and public housing authorities that have components specifically trained to serve crime victims.