Nevada Adoption Reunion Registry
Nevada Adoption Reunion Registry
Nevada's Adoption Reunion Registry database contains contact information provided by Birth Parents, Adoptees, Relatives, Nevada State Agencies and Private Adoption Agencies. If you are an Adoptee, Birth Parent or a Relative and the adoption was handled in the State of Nevada you are eligible to register.
The Registry is a free, mutual consent registry; both applicants must apply for there to be a family connection (match). A family connection (match) can only occur between applicants with a notarized application on file. The Nevada Adoption Reunion Registry was developed in 1979 (Nevada Revised Statute 127.007).
Who Is Eligible to Register?
Adoptees* (18 years or older) whose adoption was handled in Nevada.
Birth Parents* who have relinquished a child for adoption or whose parental rights have been terminated by a Nevada Court.
Relatives* who are related to an adoptee within a third degree of consanguinity.
How Do I Register?
Contact the Adoption Reunion Registry Coordinator at (775) 684-7294 for more information or questions. The forms needed are located on this page under Adoption Reunion Registry Forms.
Which Form Do I Use?
Adoptees*: Please complete the Adoptee application.
Birth Parents*: Please complete the Birth Parent application.
Relatives*: This application is a two-part form. Complete Relative Part 1 to register your contact information. The Adoption Reunion Registry Coordinator will contact you if there is a family connection (match). If you want the adoptee's contact information, then the Birth Parent Consent Part 2 application must be completed by birth parent and notarized. Exception: If birth parent is deceased, consideration may be given to a death certificate.
How Long Will It Take?
Applicants submitting a registry application will receive written confirmation within 30 days of receipt. Requests for non-identifying or medical information will be responded to within 60 days of receipt.
Requests For Non-Identifying Information*
This is general information that is in the file at the time of the adoption and can only be released to an Adoptee or an Adoptive Parent (if the child is under the age of 18). Some non-identifying information that might be found in the file is the physical description of the birth parent(s), marital status, ethnicity, education, occupation, religion and health. Additional non-identifying information may include adoptee's time of birth, place of birth, hospital, birth weight, length and if there were any other siblings at the time of birth. The consent of a birth parent is not needed for an adoptee to request any non-identifying information available in the file at the time of the adoption. Adoptees do not need to register for the Adoption Reunion Registry to obtain non-identifying information. Please see Nevada Administrative Code 127.371 regarding the information that can be provided by the agency to the public, biological parents, adoptive parents and adopted persons:
NAC 127.371 – Information Provided by Agency to Public, Biological Parents, Adoptive Parents and Adopted Persons. (NRS 127.230).
Further, pursuant to NAC 127.371(5), the Agency, may, upon request, provide to an adopted person a copy of the court order for adoption and may inform him or her if his or her biological parents are deceased.
Birth Parents Requesting Copies of Their Adoption Documents They Previously Signed*
NAC 127.371 Information provided by agency to public, biological parents, adoptive parents and adopted persons. (NRS 127.230) An agency which provided child welfare services:
3. May, upon request, provide to any biological parents it serves copies of any documents those parents execute relating to an adoption and advise those parents if the child has been adopted.
(Subsection relevant to this request)
Birth Parents may request copies of adoption documents they previously signed that are included in the closed adoption records. Please complete Birth Parent Request of Copies of Their Adoption Documents They Previously Signed* form located below under Adoption Reunion Registry Forms. This request can take up to 60 days to complete.
How Do I Withdraw or Update My Contact Information?
At any time, an application can be withdrawn from the registry by submitting a change form and choosing the check box "withdraw application."
This same form is to be used for updating contact and medical information. Please remember it is your responsibility to keep the registry current, this includes change of name, address, phone number, etc.
The completed change request form can be mailed to the Adoption Reunion Registry, Division of Child and Family Services, 4126 Technology Way, 3rd Floor, Carson City, Nevada 89706
*Indicates this form requires notarization
Links to Petition the Court to Unseal Adoption Records
In the State of Nevada all adoption records filed with the Court are sealed and are confidential files. A court order is required to unseal these court records. Because of confidentiality, you will need to illustrate to the Court that you have just cause to unseal the adoption records and it is the judge’s discretion whether you have just cause to unseal these confidential records.
Link to Clark County 8th Judicial District Court’s Self-Help Center: http://www.familylawselfhelpcenter.org/images/forms/misc/unseal-adoption-packet-pdf.pdf
Link to Washoe County Second Judicial District Court’s Self-Help Center: https://www.washoecourts.com/Main/FormsAndPackets
Path: Family Related Forms, Ex Parte Motion Packets, Ex Parte Motion to Open an Adoption Files.pdf
NRS 127.140: Confidentiality of Hearings, Files and Records
NRS 127.140: Confidentiality of Hearings, Files and Records*:
#2. The files and records of the court in adoption proceedings are not open to inspection by any person except:
(a) Upon an order of the court expressly so permitting pursuant to a petition setting forth the reasons therefor;
(b) If a natural parent and the child are eligible to receive information from the State Register for Adoptions; or
#6. The portions of the files and records which are made available for inspection by an adoptive parent, natural parent or sibling pursuant to subsection 3, 4 or 5 must not include any confidential information, including, without limitation, any information that identifies or would lead to the identification of a natural parent if the identity of the natural parent is not included in the agreement for post-adoptive contact or order for visitation, as applicable.
[14:332:1953] — (NRS A 1979, 1283; 2005, 1682; 2007, 2074; 2017, 1987)
*Subsections relevant to information that can be provided to Adoptees or Birth Parents
Additional Helpful Link: