State Child Welfare Policies and Procedures


This chapter focuses on requirements related to intake, investigations and child protective services. Included in this chapter are policies on ASFA (reasonable efforts); CAPTA-IDEA; Differential Response; Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA); Multi-Ethnic Placement Act (MEPA); Nevada Initial Assessment (NIA); Nevada Safety Assessment; Risk Assessment; response to environmental exposure; Substantiation; Termination of Parental Rights (TPR) and Child Abuse and Neglect Screenings and NCID Requirements for Prospective Foster and Adoptive Parents.

    0501 - ASFA – Reasonable Efforts

    0502 - CAPTA – IDEA PART C

    0503 - Differential Response

    0504 - Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA)

    0505 - Multi-Ethnic Placement Act (MEPA)

      0506 - Intake

      0507 - Corporal Punishment

      0508 - Nevada Initial Assessment (NIA) for Washoe County DSS and Rural Region DCFS

      0509 - Nevada Initial Assessment (NIA) for Clark County DFS

      0510 - Nevada Safety Assessment

      0511 - Risk Assessment

      0512 – Safe Haven Response

      0513 - Substantiation

      0514 - Termination of Parental Rights (TPR)

      0515 - Child Abuse and Neglect (CANS) and NCID Requirements for Prospective Foster and Adoptive Parents

      0516 - Overturning Child Maltreatment Findings in UNITY

      0517 - Sealing of Records Located in the Central Registry

      0518 - Safe Sleep of Infants for Rural Region DCFS

      0519 - CARA Plan of Care