Nevada Adoption Reunion Registry
Nevada Adoption Reunion Registry
This Adoption Reunion Registry will contain contact information for adoptions handled in Nevada whose birth parent(s) have relinquished their child or have had their rights terminated in Nevada; either through a Nevada public or private adoption agency. The Registry will also have information if the adoptive home study was conducted in Nevada or the adoption was finalized in Nevada.
The Registry is a free, mutual consent registry; both applicants must apply in order for there to be a family connection. A family connection can only occur between applicants with a notarized application on file. The Nevada Adoption Reunion Registry was developed in 1979 (Nevada Revised Statute 127.007).
Who Is Eligible?
*Adoptees (18 years or older) whose adoption was handled in Nevada. Adoptive parents can submit registry information and request non-identifying information on behalf of an adoptee under the age of 18 years old.
*Birth Parents who have relinquished a child for adoption or whose parental rights have been terminated by a Nevada Court.
*Relatives who are related to the adoptee within third degree of consanguinity.
How Do I Register?
Contact the Adoption Reunion Registry Coordinator at (775) 684-7294 for more information or questions. The forms needed are located on this page under Adoption Reunion Registry Forms.
Which Form Do I Use?
*Adoptees: Please complete the Adoptee application.
*Birth Parents: Please complete the Birth Parent application.
*Relatives: The application is a two part form. Complete Part 1 to register your contact information. Adoption Reunion Registry Coordinator will contact the relative if there is a family connection. If the relative wants the adoptee's contact information then Part 2 must be completed. Part 2 does requires consent from the Birth Parent. Exception: If birth parent is deceased, consideration may be given to a death certificate.
How Long Will It Take?
Applicants submitting a registry application will receive written confirmation of their application being processed within 30 days of receipt. Requests for non-identifying or medical information will be responded to within 60 days of receipt.
Requests For Non-Identifying Information*
This is general information that is in the file at the time of adoption and can only be released to the adoptee or adoptive parent. Some information that might be found is the description of the birth parents, marital status, ethnicity, education, occupation, religion and health. Additional information may include adoptee’s date of birth, place of birth, hospital, birth weight, length and if there were any other siblings at the time of birth. We do not need consent of the birth parent(s) to request non-identifying information and you do not have to register to obtain the information.
How Do I Withdraw or Update My Contact Information?
At any time an application can be withdrawn from the
registry by submitting a change form and choosing the check box “withdraw
application.” The same form may be used for updating medical or contact
information. The completed change request form can be mailed to the Adoption
Reunion Registry, Division of Child and Family Services, 4126 Technology Way,
3rd Floor, Carson City, Nevada 89706. Please remember it is your responsibility
to keep the registry current, this includes change of name, address, phone
*Indicates this form requires notarization