Guide to Adoption in Nevada - Fees for Adoption Services

The Division of Child and Family Services charges fees to adoptive applicants for certain adoption services. Fees paid by Nevada families, whether adopting children from Nevada or another state or country, cover completion of the home study, home visits with the child and family for a minimum period of six months (or as required by another country from which a child is adopted), and help with finalizing the adoption. Fees charged to adoptive families living outside of Nevada cover all necessary services for Nevada birth parents and completion of the ICPC requirements.

Adoption Fee Policy

  1. A fee is charged to all prospective adoptive parents of a non-special needs child.
  2. No fee is charged for the adoption of a special needs child in the custody of a public agency.
  3. No fee is charged for relative adoptions within the third degree of consanguinity or stepparent adoptions.
  4. Service fees a for Nevada adoptive family:
    1. The maximum fee for Nevada residents is based on the estimated cost to the agency to provide the service; and is assessed at a percentage of the maximum fee, according to the family’s annual unadjusted gross income.
    2. Payments are to be made as follows:
      1. Interstate adoption: 50% at the time of application, and the remaining 50% at time of placement of a child;
      2. International adoption: 50% at the time of application. The remaining 50% is payable if post placement services are provided; or
      3. Agency and specific adoptions: 50% at time of application; and the remaining 50% at time of placement.  
    3. The reapplication fee for a Nevada family is reduced by one-half, if the home study is being updated within five years of a prior study completed by the agency. If placement of a specific child does not occur and the family requests services for placement of another specific child within five years, the pre-placement fee is not collected again.
    4. If the prospective adoptive family withdraws their application prior to the social worker’s interviews, one-half of the pre-placement fees is refunded.
    5. Expedited Home Study: An additional fee of $750.00 is charged for an expedited home study. Fee is payable at the time of application. An expedited home study may be requested to facilitate the imminent birth or placement of an infant. This assures that a home study will be completed within 30 days of the application filing date. This service is subject to availability of agency staff to complete the home study within 30 days.
  5. The fee for a Nevada family may be waived or reduced by the administrator or designee, due to extenuating circumstances, on a case-by-case basis.
  6. Service fees for an out-of-state adoptive family – Interstate placement:
    The fee for an out-of-state adoptive family is $3,000.00. The fee covers interstate services to the Nevada birth parent(s). The total fee must be paid prior to processing interstate request.

All payments, as indicated above, must be made by certified check or money order made out to the Nevada State Treasurer. The sliding scale fee schedule is as follows:

Adoption Fee Schedule - Effective March 1, 2003

(1.) Fee Schedule for Agency Adoption and Private Adoption (Birth/Adoptive Parent are Nevada Residents)

Fees Payable as Follows: 

Annual Gross Income

Percent of Max Fee 

Total Fee
Pre-placement
(50% with Application) 
Placement  
(50% at Placement)
>$19,999 5%      $550    $275    $275
$20,000 - $29,999 10%   $1,100    $550    $550
$30,000 - $39,999 15%   $1,650    $825    $825
$40,000 - $49,999 20%   $2,200 $1,100 $1,100
$50,000 - $59,999 30%   $3,300 $1,650 $1,650
$60,000 - $69,999 50%   $5,500 $2,750 $2,750
$70,000 - $79,999 70%   $7,700 $3,850 $3,850
$80,000 - $89,999 90%   $9,900 $4,950 $4,950
$90,000 > 100% $11,000 $5,500 $5,500

(2.) Fee Schedule for Interstate Placements (Adoptive Parent Nevada Family/Birth Parent Out of State) and International Adoptions

Fees Payable as Follows: 

Annual Gross Income

Percent of Max Fee 

Total Fee
Pre-placement
(50% with Application) 
Placement  
(50% at Placement)
>$19,999 5%     $400    $200    $200
$20,000 - $29,999 10%    $800    $400    $400
$30,000 - $39,999 15%  $1,200    $600    $600
$40,000 - $49,999 20%  $1,600    $800    $800
$50,000 - $59,999 30%  $2,400 $1,200 $1,200
$60,000 - $69,999 50%  $4,000 $2,000 $2,000
$70,000 - $79,999 70%  $5,600 $2,800 $2,800
$80,000 - $89,999 90%  $7,200 $3,600 $3,600
$90,000 > 100% $8,000 $4,000 $4,000
Interstate Services to
Nevada Birth Parent(s)
$3,000 Flat Fee
(Paid by Adoptive Parent(s))

Fingerprinting

Adoptive families are required to pay local and FBI fingerprint processing costs for all adults, age 18 or older, living in the home. Cost is $51.25 per applicant, in addition to any fees charged for obtaining the prints.