

KELLY WOOLDRIDGE

Administrator

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION OF CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES

4126 Technology Way, 3rd Floor Carson City, Nevada 89706 Telephone (775) 684-4400 • Fax (775) 684-4455 dcfs.nv.gov

INSTRUCTIONAL MEMORANDUM

DATE: February 5, 2018

TO: Paula Hammack, Acting Director, Clark County Department of Family Services Amber Howell, Director, Washoe County Human Services Agency Betsey Crumrine, Social Services Manager V, Division of Child and Family Services John Bradtke, Social Services Manager V, Division of Child and Family Services

FROM: Reesha Powell, Deputy Administrator, Division of Child and Family Services

SUBJECT: Training Requirements for Commercially Sexually Exploited Children (CSEC)

LEGAL AND RELATED REFERENCES: Title I of the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act, as amended by Public Law 114-22, enacted May 29, 2015 (42 U.S.C. 5101 et seq.)

Public Law 114-22 amended the CAPTA requiring provision and procedures for training Child Protective Services (CPS) workers on identifying, assessing and providing comprehensive services to children who are sex trafficked victims as defined in section 103(10) of the Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 (TVPA) (22 U.S.C. 7102)); (section 106(b)(2)(xxv) of CAPTA

PURPOSE: This *Instructional Memorandum* is to provide instruction to local child welfare agencies on requirements for training of child welfare staff who are handling or could potentially handle cases involving a sexually exploited child in accordance with Public Law 114-22.

INSTRUCTION: This memorandum outlines the training requirements for child welfare staff who are handling or could potentially handle cases involving a sexually exploited child. For purposes of this requirement the following child welfare staff are considered those that could potentially handle cases involving CSEC children:

- CPS Staff/Public Service Interns (PSI) Staff/Assessment Staff
- Case Managers/Permanency Staff
- Social Workers
- Differential Response
- Supervisors of the above Staff

Initial Training:

All child welfare staff who are handling or could potentially handle cases involving commercially sexually exploited children must complete the six-hour Child Sexual Exploitation of Children (CSEC) course offered by the Nevada Partnership for Training within the following timelines:

- Current child welfare staff who *had not* completed at least three hours of approved coursework (*see Grandfather Clause) by December 31, 2017 are required to complete the CSEC course by June 1, 2018.
- Current child welfare staff who *had* completed at least three hours of approved coursework (*see Grandfather Clause) by December 31, 2017 are required to complete the CSEC course by December 31, 2018.
- New child welfare staff are required to compete the CSEC training within one year of employment starting January 2018.

*Grandfather Clause: The following trainings satisfy this requirement:

- Clark County Department of Family Services: Sexually Exploited children (SEC) (4 hours)
- Washoe County Human Services Agency: Youth at Risk for Child Sex Trafficking (WCST) (3 hours)
- Nevada Partnership for Training: Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking (DMST) (6 hours)

Ongoing Training:

All child welfare staff who are handling or could potentially handle CSEC must complete at least three hours of annual training beginning January 1, 2019 related to the commercial sexual exploitation of children. Qualifying trainings will be noted as "Meets Annual CSEC Ongoing Training Requirement" and might include topics such as:

- Complex trauma
- Cultural competency and at-risk populations
- Advanced Motivational Interviewing
- Best practices in child welfare
- Survivor panel

The Nevada Partnership for Training will be sending further information regarding training opportunities.