DCFS Juvenile Justice Programs Office NRS 62B.600 Revision

DRAFT

Submitted as a DCFS Bill Draft Review (BDR) Attachment 5.1

- 1. The Juvenile Justice Oversight Commission is hereby established to oversee the Juvenile Justice System and to act as the required State Advisory Group as outlined in the Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention Act.
- 2. The Commission consists of the Governor's [or his or her] designee and [25] 27 members appointed by the Governor. The Governor shall appoint to the Commission:
 - [(a) Two members nominated by the Senate, who are not members of the Senate or public officer
 - (b) Two members nominated by the Assembly, who are not members of the Assembly or public officers
 - (c) Two members nominated by the Supreme Court, who are not judges, justices or public officers]
 - (a) The Administrator of the Division of Child and Family Services or his or her designee.
 - (b) The Deputy Administrator of Juvenile Services of the Division of Child and Family Services or his or her designee.
 - (c) Three members who are directors of juvenile services, one each of whom must represent a county whose population:
 - (1) Is less than 100,000
 - (2) Is 100,000 or more but less than 700,000.
 - (3) Is 700,000 or more.
 - (d) Two members who are district attorneys.
 - (e) Two members who are public defenders.
 - (f) One member who is a representative of a law enforcement agency or a school police agency.
 - (g) [Two] Five members who are representatives of a nonprofit organization, lobbying firm, child advocacy group, or a private provider which provides programs to prevent or address juvenile delinquency. Must not be public officers or government employees.
 - (h) [One] Four members who [is a] are volunteers who works with children who have been adjudicated delinquent. At least one of these members shall be licensed by the State in a mental or behavioral health field. Must not be public officers or government employees.

- (i) Six members who are under the age of [24] 28 years at the time of appointment. A minimum of three must not be public officers or government employees.
- (j) One elected official, which may include, but not limited to, a judge, supreme court justice, mayor, police chief, or senator/assembly person.
- (k) One member of a federally recognized tribe.
- 3. At least three of the persons appointed to the Commission pursuant to subsection 2 must be persons who are currently or were formerly subject to the jurisdiction of the juvenile court.
- 4. Each appointed member serves a term of [2] 4 years. Members may be reappointed for additional terms of [2] 4 years in the same manner as the original appointments. Any vacancy occurring in the membership of the Commission must be filled in the same manner as the original appointment not later than 30 days after the vacancy occurs. [Nine of the initial members of the Commission who are appointed pursuant to subsection 2 must be appointed to an initial term of 1 year.] Each member of the Commission continues in office until his or her successor is appointed.
- 5. The members of the Commission serve without compensation but are entitled to receive the per diem allowance and travel expenses provided for state officers and employees generally.
- 6. A majority of the members of the Commission constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business, and a majority of a quorum present at any meeting is sufficient for any official action taken by the Commission.
- 7. A member of the Commission who is an officer or employee of this State or a political subdivision of this State must be relieved from his or her duties without loss of regular compensation to prepare for and attend meetings of the Commission and perform any work necessary to carry out the duties of the Commission in the most timely manner practicable. A state agency or political subdivision of this State shall not require an officer or employee who is a member of the Commission to:
 - (a) Make up the time he or she is absent from work to carry out his or her duties as a member of the Commission; or
 - (b) Take annual leave or compensatory time for the absence.
- 8. At the first meeting of the Commission and annually thereafter:
 - (a) The Governor shall appoint a Chair of the Commission, who must not be a public officer or government employee;
 - (b) The Commission shall elect a Vice Chair from among its members;
 - (c) The Commission shall elect a Secretary from among its members; and
 - (d) The Commission shall adopt rules for its own management and government.
- 9. The Commission shall:

- [(a) Hold its first meeting within 60 days after all the initial appointments to the Commission are made pursuant to subsection 2; and]
 Meet at least once every 4 months and may meet at such further times as deemed necessary by the Chair.
- 10. Any Commissioner may be removed by the Chair for three consecutive missed meetings.
- 11. Commissioners who are no longer employed in their position shall be automatically removed from the Commission. For example, the Administrator of DCFC or the Director of Clark County Juvenile Services.
- 12. All members are required to participate in at least one subcommittee as approved by the Chair.
- 13. As used in this section, "public officer" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 205.4627.
- 14. As used in this section, "government employee" means an employee of a state agency, a county agency, or a city agency.
- 15. As used in this section, the "Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention Act" means youth and families involved with the juvenile and criminal courts should be guarded by federal standards for care and custody, while also upholding the interests of community safety and the prevention of victimization.