ATTACHMENT D…………………………….Nevada Revised Statutes Pertaining To Suspected Abuse and Neglect of Clients
Nevada Revised Statutes Pertaining To Suspected Abuse and Neglect of Clients
Abuse of client; failure to report abuse (NRS 433.554):
      1.  An employee of a public or private mental health facility or any other person, except a client, who:

      (a) Has reason to believe that a client of the Division or of a private facility offering mental health services has been or is being abused or neglected and fails to report it;

(b) Brings intoxicating beverages or a controlled substance into any division facility occupied by clients unless specifically authorized to do so by the administrative officer or a staff physician of the facility;

      (c) Is under the influence of liquor or a controlled substance while employed in contact with clients, unless in accordance with a lawfully issued prescription;

      (d) Enters into any transaction with a client involving the transfer of money or property for personal use or gain at the expense of the client; or

      (e) Contrives the escape, elopement or absence of a client, is guilty of a misdemeanor, in addition to any other penalties provided by law.

      2.  In addition to any other penalties provided by law, an employee of a public or private mental health facility or any other person, except a client, who willfully abuses or neglects a client:

      (a) For a first violation that does not result in substantial bodily harm to the client, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

      (b) For a first violation that results in substantial bodily harm to the client, is guilty of a category B felony.

      (c) For a second or subsequent violation, is guilty of a category B felony. A person convicted of a category B felony pursuant to this section shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or by both fine and imprisonment.

      3.  A person who is convicted pursuant to this section is ineligible for 5 years for appointment to or employment in a position in the state service and, if the person is an officer or employee of the State, the person forfeits his or her office or position.

      4.  A conviction pursuant to this section is, when applicable, grounds for disciplinary action against the person so convicted and the facility where the violation occurred. The Division may recommend to the appropriate agency or board the suspension or revocation of the professional license, registration, certificate or permit of a person convicted pursuant to this section.   
      5.  For the purposes of this section:

      (a) “Abuse” means any willful and unjustified infliction of pain, injury or mental anguish upon a client, including, but not limited to:

             (1) The rape, sexual assault or sexual exploitation of the client;

             (2) The use of any type of aversive intervention;

             (3) Except as otherwise provided in NRS 433.5486, a violation of NRS 433.549; and

             (4) The use of physical, chemical or mechanical restraints or the use of seclusion in violation of federal law. Any act which meets the standard of practice for care and treatment does not constitute abuse.

      (b) “Client” includes any person who seeks, on the person’s own or others’ initiative, and can benefit from, care, treatment and training in a public or private institution or facility offering mental health services, or from treatment to competency in a public or private institution or facility offering mental health services. The term includes a client of the Division of Child and Family Services of the Department.

      (c) “Neglect” means any omission to act which causes injury to a client or which places the client at risk of injury, including, but not limited to, the failure to follow:

             (1) An appropriate plan of treatment to which the client has consented; and

             (2) The policies of the facility for the care and treatment of clients. Any omission to act which meets the standard of practice for care and treatment does not constitute neglect.

      (d) “Standard of practice” means the skill and care ordinarily exercised by prudent professional personnel engaged in health care. 

 (Added to NRS by 1975, 1599; A 1983, 933; 1987, 1196, 1551; 1989, 642; 1993, 2112, 2231, 2719; 1995, 676, 1276, 1715; 1997, 542; 1999, 3235; 2003, 1942)

Abuse or neglect of a child (NRS 432B.020):   Abuse or neglect of a child means, except as otherwise provided in subsection 2:

      (a) Physical or mental injury of a nonaccidental nature;

      (b) Sexual abuse or sexual exploitation; or

      (c) Negligent treatment or maltreatment as set forth in NRS 432B.140,
Abuse, neglect or endangerment of child: Penalties; definitions (NRS 200.508):
      1.  A person who willfully causes a child who is less than 18 years of age to suffer unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering as a result of abuse or neglect or to be placed in a situation where the child may suffer physical pain or mental suffering as the result of abuse or neglect:

      (a) If substantial bodily or mental harm results to the child:

             (1) If the child is less than 14 years of age and the harm is the result of sexual abuse or exploitation, is guilty of a category A felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life with the possibility of parole, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 15 years has been served; or

             (2) In all other such cases to which subparagraph (1) does not apply, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 20 years; or

      (b) If substantial bodily or mental harm does not result to the child:

             (1) If the person has not previously been convicted of a violation of this section or of a violation of the law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years; or

             (2) If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section or of a violation of the law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years, 

unless a more severe penalty is prescribed by law for an act or omission that brings about the abuse or neglect.

      2.  A person who is responsible for the safety or welfare of a child and who permits or allows that child to suffer unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering as a result of abuse or neglect or to be placed in a situation where the child may suffer physical pain or mental suffering as the result of abuse or neglect:

      (a) If substantial bodily or mental harm results to the child:

             (1) If the child is less than 14 years of age and the harm is the result of sexual abuse or exploitation, is guilty of a category A felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life with the possibility of parole, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 10 years has been served; or

             (2) In all other such cases to which subparagraph (1) does not apply, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 20 years; or

      (b) If substantial bodily or mental harm does not result to the child:

             (1) If the person has not previously been convicted of a violation of this section or of a violation of the law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor; or

             (2) If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section or of a violation of the law of any other jurisdiction that prohibits the same or similar conduct, is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130,

unless a more severe penalty is prescribed by law for an act or omission that brings about the abuse or neglect.

      3.  A person does not commit a violation of subsection 1 or 2 by virtue of the sole fact that he delivers or allows the delivery of a child to a provider of emergency services pursuant to NRS 432B.630.

      4.  As used in this section:

      (a) “Abuse or neglect” means physical or mental injury of a nonaccidental nature, sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child under the age of 18 years, as set forth in paragraph (d) and NRS 432B.070, 432B.100, 432B.110, 432B.140 and 432B.150, under circumstances which indicate that the child’s health or welfare is harmed or threatened with harm.

      (b) “Allow” means to do nothing to prevent or stop the abuse or neglect of a child in circumstances where the person knows or has reason to know that the child is abused or neglected.

      (c) “Permit” means permission that a reasonable person would not grant and which amounts to a neglect of responsibility attending the care, custody and control of a minor child.

      (d) “Physical injury” means:

             (1) Permanent or temporary disfigurement; or

             (2) Impairment of any bodily function or organ of the body.

      (e) “Substantial mental harm” means an injury to the intellectual or psychological capacity or the emotional condition of a child as evidenced by an observable and substantial impairment of the ability of the child to function within his normal range of performance or behavior.

Child (NRS 432B.040):  Child means a person under the age of 18 years. (Added to NRS by 1985, 1369)

Client (NRS 433B.050): Client means a child who seeks, on the child’s own or another’s initiative, and can benefit from care and treatment provided by the Division.  (Added to NRS by 1993, 2708)

Division of Child and Family Services (NRS 432B.065):  Division of Child and Family Services means the Division of Child and Family Services of the Department of Health and Human Services. (Added to NRS by 1993, 2705)

Mental injury (NRS 432B.070):  Mental injury means an injury to the intellectual or psychological capacity or the emotional condition of a child as evidenced by an observable and substantial impairment of the ability of the child to function within a normal range of performance or behavior. (Added to NRS by 1985, 1369)

Method of making report; contents (NRS 432B.230): 
      1.  A person may make a report pursuant to NRS 432B.220 by telephone or, in light of all the surrounding facts and circumstances which are known or which reasonably should be known to the person at the time, by any other means of oral, written or electronic communication that a reasonable person would believe, under those facts and circumstances, is a reliable and swift means of communicating information to the person who receives the report. If the report is made orally, the person who receives the report must reduce it to writing as soon as reasonably practicable.

      2.  The report must contain the following information, if obtainable:

      (a) The name, address, age and sex of the child;

      (b) The name and address of the child’s parents or other person responsible for the care of the child;

      (c) The nature and extent of the abuse or neglect of the child, the effect of prenatal illegal substance abuse on the newborn infant or the nature of the withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal drug exposure of the newborn infant;

      (d) Any evidence of previously known or suspected:

             (1) Abuse or neglect of the child or the child’s siblings; or

             (2) Effects of prenatal illegal substance abuse on or evidence of withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal drug exposure of the newborn infant;

      (e) The name, address and relationship, if known, of the person who is alleged to have abused or neglected the child; and

      (f) Any other information known to the person making the report that the agency which provides child welfare services considers necessary.

      (Added to NRS by 1985, 1372; A 1999, 3528; 2001 Special Session, 38; 2005, 2033)

Negligent treatment or maltreatment (NRS 432B.140):  Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child occurs if a child has been abandoned, is without proper care, control and supervision or lacks the subsistence, education, shelter, medical care or other care necessary for the well-being of the child because of the faults or habits of the person responsible for the welfare of the child or the neglect or refusal of the person to provide them when able to do so. (Added to NRS by 1985, 1370)
Parent/Guardian/Legal Custodian: Biological parent or adoptive parent; person recognized by a court of law as having the duty of taking care of the person and managing the property and rights of a minor child; person or governmental organization who has been awarded legal custody of a child (NRS 432B.060).
Persons required to make report; when and to whom reports are required; any person may make report; report and written findings if reasonable cause to believe death of child caused by abuse or neglect (NRS 432B.220):
      1.  Any person who is described in subsection 4 and who, in his or her professional or occupational capacity, knows or has reasonable cause to believe that a child has been abused or neglected shall:

      (a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, report the abuse or neglect of the child to an agency which provides child welfare services or to a law enforcement agency; and

      (b) Make such a report as soon as reasonably practicable but not later than 24 hours after the person knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the child has been abused or neglected.

      2.  If a person who is required to make a report pursuant to subsection 1 knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the abuse or neglect of the child involves an act or omission of:

      (a) A person directly responsible or serving as a volunteer for or an employee of a public or private home, institution or facility where the child is receiving child care outside of the home for a portion of the day, the person shall make the report to a law enforcement agency.

      (b) An agency which provides child welfare services or a law enforcement agency, the person shall make the report to an agency other than the one alleged to have committed the act or omission, and the investigation of the abuse or neglect of the child must be made by an agency other than the one alleged to have committed the act or omission.

      3.  Any person who is described in paragraph (a) of subsection 4 who delivers or provides medical services to a newborn infant and who, in his or her professional or occupational capacity, knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the newborn infant has been affected by prenatal illegal substance abuse or has withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal drug exposure shall, as soon as reasonably practicable but not later than 24 hours after the person knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the newborn infant is so affected or has such symptoms, notify an agency which provides child welfare services of the condition of the infant and refer each person who is responsible for the welfare of the infant to an agency which provides child welfare services for appropriate counseling, training or other services. A notification and referral to an agency which provides child welfare services pursuant to this subsection shall not be construed to require prosecution for any illegal action.

      4.  A report must be made pursuant to subsection 1 by the following persons:

      (a) A physician, dentist, dental hygienist, chiropractor, optometrist, podiatric physician, medical examiner, resident, intern, professional or practical nurse, physician assistant licensed pursuant to chapter 630 or 633 of NRS, psychiatrist, psychologist, marriage and family therapist, clinical professional counselor, clinical alcohol and drug abuse counselor, alcohol and drug abuse counselor, clinical social worker, athletic trainer, advanced emergency medical technician or other person providing medical services licensed or certified in this State.

      (b) Any personnel of a hospital or similar institution engaged in the admission, examination, care or treatment of persons or an administrator, manager or other person in charge of a hospital or similar institution upon notification of suspected abuse or neglect of a child by a member of the staff of the hospital.

      (c) A coroner.

      (d) A member of the clergy, practitioner of Christian Science or religious healer, unless the person has acquired the knowledge of the abuse or neglect from the offender during a confession.

      (e) A social worker and an administrator, teacher, librarian or counselor of a school.

      (f) Any person who maintains or is employed by a facility or establishment that provides care for children, children’s camp or other public or private facility, institution or agency furnishing care to a child.

      (g) Any person licensed to conduct a foster home.

      (h) Any officer or employee of a law enforcement agency or an adult or juvenile probation officer.

      (i) An attorney, unless the attorney has acquired the knowledge of the abuse or neglect from a client who is or may be accused of the abuse or neglect.

      (j) Any person who maintains, is employed by or serves as a volunteer for an agency or service which advises persons regarding abuse or neglect of a child and refers them to persons and agencies where their requests and needs can be met.

      (k) Any person who is employed by or serves as a volunteer for an approved youth shelter. As used in this paragraph, “approved youth shelter” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 244.422.

      (l) Any adult person who is employed by an entity that provides organized activities for children.

      5.  A report may be made by any other person.

6. If a person who is required to make a report pursuant to subsection 1 knows or has reasonable cause to believe that a child has died as a result of abuse or neglect, the person shall, as soon as reasonably practicable, report this belief to an agency which provides child welfare services or a law enforcement agency. If such a report is made to a law enforcement agency, the law enforcement agency shall notify an agency which provides child welfare services and the appropriate medical examiner or coroner of the report. If such a report is made to an agency which provides child welfare services, the agency which provides child welfare services shall notify the appropriate medical examiner or coroner of the report. The medical examiner or coroner who is notified of a report pursuant to this subsection shall investigate the report and submit his or her written findings to the appropriate agency which provides child welfare services, the appropriate district attorney and a law enforcement agency. The written findings must include, if obtainable, the information required pursuant to the provisions of subsection 2 of NRS 432B.230.  (Added to NRS by 1985, 1371; A 1987, 2132, 2220; 1989, 439; 1993, 2229; 1999, 3526; 2001, 780, 1150; 2001 Special Session, 37; 2003, 910, 1211; 2005, 2031; 2007, 1503, 1853, 3084)
Persons responsible for child’s welfare (NRS 432B.130):  A person is responsible for a child’s welfare under the provisions of this chapter if the person is the child’s parent, guardian, a stepparent with whom the child lives, an adult person continually or regularly found in the same household as the child, or a person directly responsible or serving as a volunteer for or employed in a public or private home, institution or facility where the child actually resides or is receiving child care outside of the home for a portion of the day. (Added to NRS by 1985, 1370; A 1989, 439; 2001 Special Session, 34)

Physical injury (NRS 432B.090):  Physical injury includes, without limitation:

      1.  A sprain or dislocation;

      2.  Damage to cartilage;

      3.  A fracture of a bone or the skull;

      4.  An intracranial hemorrhage or injury to another internal organ;

      5.  A burn or scalding;

      6.  A cut, laceration, puncture or bite;

      7.  Permanent or temporary disfigurement; or

      8.  Permanent or temporary loss or impairment of a part or organ of the body.

      (Added to NRS by 1985, 1369; A 1997, 848)

  Sexual abuse (NRS 432B.100): Sexual abuse includes acts upon a child constituting:

      1.  Incest under NRS 201.180;

      2.  Lewdness with a child under NRS 201.230;

      3.  Sado-masochistic abuse under NRS 201.262;

      4.  Sexual assault under NRS 200.366;

      5.  Statutory sexual seduction under NRS 200.368;

      6.  Open or gross lewdness under NRS 201.210; and

      7.  Mutilation of the genitalia of a female child, aiding, abetting, encouraging or participating in the mutilation of the genitalia of a female child, or removal of a female child from this State for the purpose of mutilating the genitalia of the child under NRS 200.5083. 

(Added to NRS by 1985, 1369; A 1991, 54; 1997, 677; 2003, 1396)

Sexual exploitation (NRS 432B.110):  Sexual exploitation includes forcing, allowing or encouraging a child:

      1.  To solicit for or engage in prostitution;

      2.  To view a pornographic film or literature; and

      3.  To engage in:

      (a) Filming, photographing or recording on videotape; or

      (b) Posing, modeling, depiction or a live performance before an audience, which involves the exhibition of a child’s genitals or any sexual conduct with a child, as defined in NRS 200.700.  (Added to NRS by 1985, 1369)
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