
KNOW YOUR RIGHTS,  

RESPONSIBILITIES, AND OPPORTUNITIES 

NOW THAT YOU ARE 

 

AGING OUT 



Enter into Binding Contracts. 
Buy or sell property, including real estate and 
stock. 
Marry without the written consent of  a parent 
(or guardian) and a judge. 
Sue or be sued in their own names. 
Compromise, settle or arbitrate a claim. 

Make or revoke a will. 
Inherit property outright. 
Vote in state and local elections. 
Eligible for jury service. 
Consent to all types of  medical treatment. 
Join the military without parental consent. 
Enroll in any school or college. 

At the age of  majority, teenagers acquire the right to: 

Reaching 

the Age 

of Majority  

The age of majority is a term used to 
describe the time in life when a person 
is legally no longer considered a child.  
Historically, the age of majority was 
set at 21 in most states, but the ratifica-
tion of the 26th Amendment to the 
U.S. Constitution in 1971 changed that.  
It gave 18-year-olds the right to vote in 
federal elections.  Most states, includ-
ing Nevada, lowered their age of ma-
jority to 18. (NRS 129.010)   

 
Nevada law also provides for the 
emancipation of a minor who is at 
least 16 years of age, and who is mar-
ried or living apart from his/her par-
ents or legal guardian.  Emancipation 
requires approval by a district court 
judge. (NRS 129.080-129.140)  This 
does not, however, mean that you now 
have all of the rights and privileges 
available to adults.  Some rights come 
at an earlier age, while others come 
later.  For example, you may be issued 
a provisional driver’s license at age 16, 
but you cannot purchase or consume 
alcoholic beverages, or enter any gam-
ing activities or accept any employ-
ment in gaming until the age of 21.  
The age of majority has really come to 
mean the point when the law treats an 
individual as an adult for most purpos-
es.     
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RECORDS YOU’LL  

NEED BEFORE  

LEAVING  

FOSTER CARE 

PERSONAL RECORDS: 
 Birth Certificate (do NOT carry this with you; keep in a safe place) 
 Social Security Card (do NOT carry this with you; keep in a safe place) 
 Photo identification (Driver’s License or ID card) 
 Family information (who your parents are, other living relatives) 
 Residential history (where you have lived, the support and supervision you have had) 
 A copy of your court papers indicating you are/were in the foster care system 
 Records from agencies who are providing you with services, especially records that show that 

you meet the eligibility requirements 
 Proof of lawful permanent residence (“Green Card” if you are not a U.S. citizen) 
 
MEDICAL RECORDS: 
 Names, addresses and phone numbers of any doctors, dentists or therapists that have treat-

ed you 
 Your immunization records (do NOT carry with you; keep in a safe place) 
 Dates and results of any surgeries or medical procedures 
 Reports from any specialists or therapists 
 
EDUCATIONAL RECORDS: 
 Copies of any Individual Educational Plans (IEPs), if you 

have had them while in school 
 Educational assessment reports 
 School progress reports and report cards 
 A copy of your final high school transcript 
 
WORK HISTORY/VOCATIONAL RECORDS: 
 Reports from any vocational assessment 
 Proof of vocational courses taken 
 Work records, including the jobs you’ve had, the start and 

end dates of those jobs, contact names and phone num-
bers for future job references 

 Letters of reference 
 Your  résumé 
 



What to Do First 
Talk to your high school counselor 

Take challenging classes (pre-calc, chemistry, sec-

ond language) 

Read newspapers, books, articles—all will help with 

ACT or SAT testing 

Learn about college requirements 

Take PSAT 

Ask your high school counselor for a test fee waiver 

for ACT or SAT 

Be aware of scholarship deadlines 

Visit your campus of interest (university, community 

college or vocational school) 

Apply for federal aid at www.fafsa.ed.gov 

Get assistance from others 

 
 

Otto A. Huth Scholarship Trust Fund 
Deadline for application is April 15th of each year. 
The Otto Huth Scholarship provides funds for Nevada Universi-
ties, community college, business school and/or trade school. 
 
Huth Scholarships are given for post high school education for a 
maximum of five years, with the intent of the student obtaining 
an undergraduate degree or a trade school certification.  No 
funds are to be used for post graduate education.  Once a 
scholarship amount is awarded, it will not be increased from the 
original amount approved. 
 
$$ Maximum five years Paid Expenses $$ 

Tuition 

On-campus room/board 

Books 

Student health insurance 

On-campus meals (for off campus residence) 

 
Application is five pages requesting your education and person-

al interest. 
 
Provide 2 essays 

 What have you learned and how have you overcome ad-

versities in your life? 

 How will the scholarship benefit you and where do you see 

yourself one year and five years from now? 
 
Criteria of Huth Scholarship 

Apply before age 21. 

Initiate postsecondary education at an institution located in 

the State of Nevada. 

Begin post high school education within 12 months after 

receipt of acceptance.  A copy of the high school diploma 
or GED must be sent to Wells Fargo Bank, Trustee with 

enrollment information. 

High school GPA showing continued improvement, school 

involvement, stable employment history, community in-
volvement, required essays and letters of recommendation. 

Must submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid 

(FAFSA) prior to the Huth Scholarship application deadline. 

Also need to submit copies of award letters received, in-

cluding but not limited to Pell Grant, ETV and FAFFY. 
 
 

For more information and to obtain an application for the Otto 
Huth Scholarship, go to: 
http://www.dcfs.state.nv.us/DCFS_SholarshipInfo.htm 
 

GET  
SMART! 

National Foster Parent Association 
The National Foster Parent Association (NFPA) offers scholar-
ships for foster youth, adopted youth, or biological youth of 
currently licensed foster parents, who wish to further their 
education beyond high school, including college or university 
studies, vocational and job training, and correspondence 
courses, including the GED.  To apply: 

Complete Free Application for Federal Student Aid 

(FAFSA) application 

Apply Senior year of high school 

Provide high school transcripts 

Provide cost from college/university 

Complete application with ALL documentation by March 

31 of each year 

Supply school acceptance letter 



Scholarship Websites 
 

Education & Training Voucher 

www.childrenscabinet.org 
 

Federal Aid 

www.fafsa.ed.gov 
 

Millennium Scholarship 

www.nevadatreasurer.gov 
 

National Foster Parent Association 

www.nasfaa.org 
 

Orphan Foundation of America 

www.orphan.org 
 

Otto A. Huth Scholarship 

www.dcfs.state.nv.us/DCFS ScholarshipInfo.htm 
 

Las Vegas Southwest Rotary Club Scholarship 

http://lvswr.org/Media/Scholarship%20Application.pdf 

Orphan Foundation of America 
Scholarships are awarded based on a combination of merit 
and need, and funding levels are determined based on cost 
of attendance and other resources.  To apply you must: 

Have been in foster care for one consecutive year at 

the time of your 18th birthday OR have been adopted 
or taken into legal guardianship out of foster care or 
upon the death of your parents after their 16th birth-
day OR have lost both parents to death before the age 
of 18 and not been subsequently adopted or taken 
into legal guardianship. 

Be enrolled in or accepted into an accredited post-

secondary program at the undergraduate level 
(university, college, community college or vocational/
technical institute.) 

Be under the age of 25 on March 31 of the year in 

which you apply. 

U.S. citizenship is not required; however, you must 

have been in foster care or orphaned while living in 
the United States. 

 
Contact OFA’s Scholarship Team with any questions.  To 
access the online application go to www.orphan.org. 
Additional materials must be mailed to OFA by April 15,  
year of applying. 
 

 

 
 

Education & Training Voucher (ETV) of-

fers financial assistance to current or former foster youth for 
post-secondary education and training. 
$5,000.00 per school year!! 
 

Eligibility: 

Nevada youth, formerly in foster care, adopted at age 

16 or older 

Current and former foster youth eligible for Chaffee 

Independent Living Program Services 
 

Young adults, formerly in foster care exiting at age 18, cur-
rently age 21 remain eligible until they attain 23 years of 
age, if participating in ETV Program on their 21st birthday 
and are enrolled in a post secondary education or training 
program and are making satisfactory progress toward com-
pletion of their program 
 

Eligible Institutions: 

Admits as regular students only persons with high 

school diploma, GED, or students above the average 
age of high school attendance 

Authorized by the State to provide postsecondary edu-

cation 

Provides an educational program which awards a bach-

elor’s degree, or at least a two-years program  
(associates degree) or provided at least a one-year 
training program to prepare students for gainful em-
ployment 

Vocational institution must be in existence for at least 

two years, which provides a training program to pre-
pare students for gainful employment 

 

Eligible Expenses $$: 

Books, supplies, computer 

Child care expenses 

Current year student loan 

Expenses related to work experience 

Room and board 

Transportation 

Tuition, fees, class materials 
 

For more info contact your social worker, The Children’s 
Cabinet, or Google Education and Training Voucher, Nevada. 

The Las Vegas Southwest Rotary 
Club will award one Academic Scholarship to a grad-

uating senior for the academic year that intends to 
attend UNLV, UNR, CCSN or other Community Colleges 
in Nevada. The scholarship will be awarded on a per-
semester basis and is renewable for up to 8 semesters 
of college as long as the applicant maintains a 3.0 GPA 
(on a 4.0 GPA maximum) and completes a minimum of 
12 semester hours per semester. 
 
Required eligibility requirements: 

Graduating from a Northwest Accredited high 

school in Clark County, Nevada. 

A minimum weighted or non-weighted 3.5 GPA. 

Demonstrate a family or student financial need. 

 
Desired eligibility requirements: 

A minimum composite ACT score of 25 or an SAT 

score of 1200, a student selecting to attend CCSN 
will be exempt from this requirement. 

Demonstrate leadership in school and/or commu-

nity. 

Must be a legal resident of the United States. 



Dress for  
Success! The hardest part about 

writing a résumé is starting 
to write the résumé! First 
you need to think about 
what you want to do, what 
image you wish to project, 
and how your past experi-
ences relate to your cur-
rent aspirations. Once you 
have addressed these cru-
cial issues, putting your 
thoughts on paper is much 
easier.  As a side note, 
there are several websites 
that provide templates to 
start a résumé.  Once you 
decide to begin writing your résumé, pick a for-
mat and follow these steps to get started: 
 Contact Information 
 Objective/Goal 
 Education 
 Past Work Experience 
 Skills/Abilities 
 Activities 
 References 

Interview Tips 

When job hunting, dress for 
success is probably one of 
the most overused phrases, 
but also one of the most 
underutilized by job-
seekers: dress for success.  
In job-hunting and going to 
interviews, first impressions 
are critical.  The first im-
pression you make on a po-
tential employer is the most 
important one. The first 
judgment an interviewer 
makes is going to be based 

on how you look and what you are wearing. That's 
why it's always important to dress professionally for 
a job interview, even if the work environment is 
casual.  Remember, you are marketing a product -- 
yourself -- to a potential employer, and the first 
thing the employer sees when greeting you is your 
attire; thus, you must make every effort to have the 
proper dress for the type of job you are seeking.  
Will dressing get you the job? Of course not, but it 
will give you a competitive edge and a positive first 
impression. You'll want that first impression to be 
not just a good one, but, a great one.  

Résu-mania! 

Job interviewing never seems to get any easi-
er - even when you have gone on more inter-
views than you can count.  You are meeting 
new people, selling yourself and your skills, 
and often getting the third degree about what 
you know or don't know.   Proper preparation 
helps alleviate some of the stress involved in 
job interviews.  Here are job interview tips to 
help prepare you to interview effectively:  
 Practice answering basic interview ques-

tions 
 Prepare responses to basic questions 
 Be ready 
 Be on time 
 Stay calm and collected 
 Show what you know 
 Follow up 

Job Readiness 
 

Here are some websites with great re-
sources and information on résumés and 
cover letters, interviewing and other as-
pects of job readiness: 
 www.rileyguide.com 
 www.monster.com 
 www.careerbuilder.com    



Will I be offered a written contract with a job? 
 

You will probably not be offered a written employment 
contract. Most employment contracts are oral. However, 

if you are offered a written contract you should read it 
carefully and make sure you understand all of its provi-

sions before you sign the contract.  

 
Is there any guarantee that I can keep my job if 
I work hard and do my best? 
 

Unfortunately there is no such guarantee. Generally in 
Nevada, an employer can fire an employee without 

providing a reason. This is because Nevada is an “at-will” 
employment state. Generally, an “at-will” employment 

contract can be terminated by the employer whenever 
and for whatever reason.  However, there are some ex-

ceptions. An employer may not fire or discriminate 

against someone based on race, color, religion, sex, sex-
ual orientation, age, disability or national origin.  
 
What is sexual harassment? 
 

Sexual harassment is a form of sex discrimination that 

violates Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Sexual 
harassment can occur in a variety of circumstances in-

cluding unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual 

favors, or other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual 
nature that interferes with an employee’s work perfor-

mance or creates an intimidating or hostile work environ-
ment.  

 
What can I do if I experience discrimination or 
harassment in the workplace? 
 

If you feel that you are being unlawfully discriminated 
against or harassed on the job, you should contact the 

Nevada Equal Rights Commission (NERC) to file a formal 

complaint. NERC investigates and attempts to resolve 
allegations of unlawful discrimination in employment. 

NERC can be reached at 775-688-1288 or on the 
web at www.NVDETR.org. 

 

What is FICA? 
 

The Federal Insurance Contributions Act (F.I.C.A.) is 

commonly referred to as Social Security. It is a payroll 
tax that provides retirement, disability and death benefits 

to workers. Your employer pays half of the premium and 
you pay the other half. 

Do I need a social security number to get em-
ployment? 
 

Yes, unless you are ineligible for a Social Security num-

ber. In that case, you would need an Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number (ITIN). An example of an individual 

that may need an ITIN is a U.S. resident who is not a 

citizen.  Your employer is required to report your wages 
to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). The IRS is the 

agency that collects federal taxes from taxpayers. The 
IRS uses your Social Security number or ITIN to process 

your federal tax payment. If you need additional infor-

mation you should check with your local Social Security 
office, go to www.ssa.gov, or call 1-800-772-1213. 

 
What is workers’ compensation insurance? 
 

Workers’ compensation insurance is paid for by employ-

ers and provides compensation and medical benefits to 
workers who are injured on the job. By law, employers 

must carry workers’ compensation insurance. 
 

Workers’ compensation insurance is also intended to help 

workers who develop occupational diseases caused by 
their jobs.  

 
Will I get back any of the tax that I pay? 
 

You (or your accountant) must complete an income tax 

return each year and mail it to the Internal Revenue Ser-
vice no later than April 15. If it turns out that you paid 

too much tax for your level of income, you may be enti-
tled to a refund. 26 U.S.C. §6513. If it turns out that you 

did not pay enough, you will be required to pay the dif-

ference to the IRS. Therefore, it is important that when 
you begin employment you fill out the appropriate paper-

work so that enough tax is being deducted from your 
paycheck. 

 
What is the Minimum Wage? 
 

In Nevada, the basic minimum wage rate for employees 

who receive qualified health benefits from their employ-
ers, is $6.55 per hour, while the minimum wage for em-

ployees not receiving health benefits is $7.55 per hour 
(as of July 2009).    
 

Working and
 



MOVING OUT MOVING OUT 

Tips for Renting  
 Actually read your lease - don’t just sign 

the lease. Read it over carefully and ask 
your landlord for explanations on things 
that are unclear. Often times, landlords 
hide additional expenses, like charging 
$100 for a lost key, in the lease so make 
sure to read all of it.  Request a copy of 
the signed lease for your own records.  

 
 Document the condition of the apartment 

before moving in and after moving out – a 
good idea is to videotape or photograph 
the apartment before moving any of your 
stuff in and again when moving out. That 
way a landlord cannot lie about the condi-
tion of the apartment and unfairly charge 
you. If you don’t have access to a camera, 
write down every single pre-existing con-
dition (i.e. stains on rug) before moving in, 
give that list to your landlord, and keep a 
copy for yourself. 

 
 Ask for rental receipts – proving that you 

paid the rent on time. 
 
 Write down complaints – try to always put 

in writing complaints to the landlord re-
garding needed repairs or problems you 
are experiencing with the apartment. 
Keep copies of those letters. 

Getting your own place is a great freedom and a big 
responsibility. Whether you live on your own or 
share an apartment with friends, you should know 
your rights and obligations if you plan to rent a place 
to live. 
 

Before Moving In 
Can a landlord refuse to rent to me because of 
my race, religion, or sex? 
No. Under state and federal law, a landlord may not 
refuse to rent to you because of your race, religious 
creed, color, national origin, disability, ancestry, fa-
milial status or sex. (NRS 118.020)    
 
What is a lease? 
A lease is an agreement between the landlord 
(person renting out the apartment) and you (the ten-
ant). The lease sets the conditions for renting the 
apartment. Leases may or may not be written. It is a 
good idea to request that the lease be written. A 
lease must be in writing if you agree to rent the 
apartment for longer than one year.  
 
What is the difference between a cotenant and a 
subtenant? 
A cotenant is someone who is also renting the same 
apartment as you and signs the lease. A cotenant is 
equally responsible for rent. Subletting is when you 
lease out your apartment to another person. Many 
leases expressly forbid subletting. If you do sublet, 
you are still legally considered the tenant and the 
landlord can hold you responsible for any damages 
caused by the person you lease to, even if you do 
not live there.  
 
What is a security deposit? 
Most landlords require you to give a security deposit 
before allowing you to move into the apartment. 
(NRS 118A.240)  This deposit is usually approxi-
mately the same amount as one month’s rent and is 
used by the landlord to pay for any damages to the 
apartment incurred when you are the tenant and left 
unpaid rent. A landlord may not use a security de-
posit to pay for fixing “normal wear and tear” – con-
dition of the apartment that resulted from normal 
everyday usage — to the apartment. Ask the land-
lord to explain what will be considered normal wear 
and tear and what would be considered damages. A 
landlord must, within 30 days after you leave, return 
the full deposit amount or the remaining amount with 
an itemized list accounting for the lesser amount. 
(NRS 118A.242) 



MAIL SERVICE 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

More Tips for Renting  
 Find out in advance if you can amend the 

lease to accommodate additional room-
mates later on. 

 
 If you have pets or are considering acquir-

ing a pet, make sure the landlord agrees 
in advance to the addition.  Some rentals 
restrict the size of the animals so ask 
questions before moving in a large dog.  If 
your rental property allows pets, additional 
fees may be required.  Keep in mind that 
pets may damage the property and, if so, 
you could be held liable for the costs to 
repair the property. 

 
 If the rental unit has appliances such as a 

refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, etc., 
find out from the landlord who is responsi-
ble for repairs if the appliance becomes 
inoperative. 

 
 Some rental properties come with furnish-

ings.  As with the appliances, check with 
the landlord to ascertain who is responsi-
ble for the furnishings if they are broken or 
wear out. 

 
 Ask for permission in advance of any inte-

rior wall painting or other renovations. 

While Living There 
What if I don’t pay rent on time? 
If you fail to pay rent on time, you may be charged a late 
fee in addition to the full rent amount. If you fail to pay 
any rent, a landlord can terminate your lease and evict 
you – force you to move. An eviction is a court judgment 
that entitles the landlord to have a sheriff forcibly move 
you and your belongings out of the apartment. In some 
cases, a landlord may take some of your personal be-
longings to pay for the amount of unpaid rent you owe. 
(NRS 118A.520)  An eviction will make it extremely diffi-
cult, if not impossible, for you to find another apartment 
to rent. (NRS 118A.490) 
 
If you know you may have problems paying this month’s 
rent, talk to you landlord before the due date. Sometimes 
a landlord will agree to take a portion of the rent until you 
can make up the rest.  
 
 

Landlord’s Rights and Obligations 
A landlord must maintain the apartment in a “habitable 
condition.” (NRS 118A.290)  An apartment is not habita-
ble if there is a major construction issue, i.e. no working 
sewage, no running water, no working electrical outlets. 
A landlord is also responsible for the maintenance and 
upkeep of all common areas – outside stairwells, parking 
lots, swimming pools in an apartment complex.  
 
A landlord has the right to enter your apartment in emer-
gencies like a fire or an overflowing bathtub. Any other 
times, the landlord must get your consent before enter-
ing your apartment. A landlord must give you 24 hours 
notice and may only enter at reasonable business hours 
(8 am – 5 pm). If you unreasonably refuse to give con-
sent, the landlord can get a court order allowing entrance 
to your apartment. (NRS 118A.330 and NRS 118A.500)  
 

 

Tenant’s Rights and Obligations 
You, as the tenant, must pay rent on time, keep the 
apartment clean and safe, and conduct yourself in a 
manner that will not disturb a neighbor’s peaceful enjoy-
ment of their apartment. (NRS 118A.310) 
 
If the landlord fails to maintain your apartment in a habit-
able condition or neglects the upkeep of the apartment’s 
common areas, you have the right to complain to the 
landlord and demand repairs. If these repairs are not 
made within a reasonable amount of time, you can with-
hold part of your rent until repairs are made. (NRS 
118A.360 and NRS 118A.380)  

 
 
Moving Out 
You must give reasonable written notice to your landlord 
that you are moving. If you signed a lease and you move 
out before that lease ends, you may be liable for remain-
ing months of rent and additional charges. (NRS 
118A.420)  You can move out before a lease expires if 
you have a mental or physical condition – such as you 
are involved in an accident and can no longer climb the 
stairs– that requires you to relocate. (NRS 118A.340)  

 
 



HEALTH & WELL BEING 

 
MEDICAID ELIGIBLITY FOR FOSTER YOUTH 

 
As a Nevada foster youth aging out of the foster care system, you may be eligible for Medicaid benefits 
to continue after you exit care.  In addition, beginning October 2010, the federal Health Care Bill signed 
by President Obama provides for eligible former foster youth to receive Medicaid up to the age of 26. 
When you meet with your Independent Living worker approximately six months before you exit care, 
one of the things you will talk about is Medicaid and completing a special Medicaid application for for-
mer foster youth.  Your worker will assist you in making your initial application appointment and may 
accompany you to that appointment.  That way, when you leave care and are on your own, you will 
have medical insurance the same as you did, or very similar, to when you were in care.  After that, it is 
up to you to follow through on all the things you will be expected to do in keeping that insurance.  Of 
most importance is to ensure the Medicaid office has your current address and phone number in case 
they need to get in touch with you.  If they can not locate you, you could lose your benefits.  

What to expect when you are getting ready to exit care 
Schedule your exit interview and develop your transition plan 
 
Six months before you leave care, your Independent Living worker will begin working with you in prep-
aration of your leave date.  At that time, you and your worker will do the following:   

 
  Meet with the aftercare agency that pro-

vides services for former foster youth in 
your area for an intake.  (Clark County: 
Child Focus;  Washoe County:  Children’s 
Cabinet;  Carson City area:  Ron Wood 
Family Resource Center;  Fallon area:  
FRIENDS Family Resource Center; Elko 
area:  Family Resource Center of North-
eastern Nevada; Pahrump area:  Nevada 
Outreach Training Organization.) 

 Obtain ID (Social Security card, certified 
birth certificate, DMV photo ID, immuniza-
tion record, Medical Passport, immigration 
proof of legal residency, naturalized citi-
zenship, etc.). 

 Plan for completion of high school or finan-
cial aid to attend college or vocational 
training, apprenticeship training or employ-
ment. 

 Apply for Social Security, Veteran’s, or SSI 
benefits if you have not already done so 
and are eligible. 

 Attend the Medicaid intake appointment. 
 Apply for Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF) and food stamps if you 
are a parent. 



 

OTHER HEALTH AND WELL-BEING ISSUES 
Your current worker or the worker from the aftercare agency can assist you with: 
 
 Resolving trust fund issues and access/distribution plan, if applicable. 
 Arranging for an intake with adult mental health provider or assistance with services for the develop-

mentally disabled for post-foster care services and licensed residence or life skills. 
 
 
IF YOU DO GET SICK 
Everyone gets a cold, a sore throat or 
the flu every once in awhile.  When 
you’re living on your own it’s important 
to take good care of yourself when 
you get sick, but also take care of your 
obligations, to work, school, and 
friends. 
 
First take care of yourself, and see a doctor if your symptoms worsen. 
 
But, before you curl up in bed, you’ll need to think about any important work, school, financial or other 
obligations you have in the next few days.  Make a list of what absolutely must get done, and cancel any 
plans that can wait.  Be sure to let people who are counting on you know you are sick. 
 

Especially: 
 Check your work schedule.  It’s best to let your boss know as soon as possible that you won’t be 

coming in, so he/she can find a replacement.  If you think you’ll be out for more than one day, it’s 
best to say so now. 

 If you’re in school, what has to be done to keep from falling behind?  If you can muster the en-
ergy, you may need to finish that important homework assignment or study for a big test before you 
crawl into bed.  Do you have friends in your classes who can bring you notes?  It’s a good idea to 
call the school or your teacher to let them know you’re missing a class because you’re sick. 

 Do you have bills due in the next few days?  Mail the checks before you go to bed. 
 Do you have commitments to friends coming up?  Were you going to go out with a friend, give 

someone a ride to work, baby-sit for the neighbor’s kids?  Be sure to call and let them know you 
can’t make it. 

 

A WELL-STOCKED MEDICINE CABINET 
Here’s a list of basic health supplies to have on hand: 
First aid supplies: (most pharmacies sell portable first aid kits 
that include these supplies.) 
 A first aid booklet 
 Adhesive bandages 
 Gauze 

 Adhesive tape 
 Alcohol swabs 
 Neosporin for disinfecting cuts 
 Elastic bandages for sprains 
 Chemical cold pack 
 An oral thermometer 
 Pain reliever/fever reducer (ibuprofen or acetaminophen) 
 Decongestant and cough syrup 
 Antihistamine for allergies 
 Syrup of ipecac (for inducing vomiting if your poison con-

trol office tells you to) 
 



Life Skills 

 

Grocery Shopping 
Look at your plans for the week’s menu. Check the items – do you have all of them in the house? If not, add it to your shop-
ping list. 
 

That’s pretty much it. Once you’ve listed all the ingredients you need, think about what else you need in the house. Snacks? 
Portable snacks for school? Kleenex? Toothpaste? Look around the house, or think about something you wanted this week 
and didn’t have in the house. 
 

Grocery Basics  
Here are some food basics you might want to stock your kitchen with: 

 Salt, pepper, spices 

 Flour, baking soda 

 Cooking oil 

 Sugar 

 Tea/coffee 

 Cereal 

 Eggs 

 Cheese 

 Juice 

 Soup 

 Pasta 

 Peanut butter and jam/jelly 

 Butter/margarine 

 Bread/bagels 

 Ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise 

 Milk 

 Rice/beans 

 Vegetables 

Once you are on your own, you’ll have to do plenty of juggling, making all those things in life happen that others probably 
took care of for you when you were young. The most basic – and important – daily life skills are addressed below. 
 

Time Management 
Time management is one of the most important factors that will help 
you to be successful living independently. You should be able to do 
most of the things you want to do. You will just need to be responsi-
ble and stick to your plan. 
It is a really good idea to get a “day planner” or personal calendar. 
Most successful people use one. There are twelve blank monthly 
calendar pages in the back of this book for you to use for an entire 
year - just start with whatever month you receive it (there are stickers 
to put the names on the month on each page, too).  
These are the things you should write in your planner: 

 Apppointments, interviews, phone calls you need to make 

 When and what you need to study 

 Due dates for school projects 

 Work schedule 

 Dates your monthly bills are due 

 Lists of things you need (groceries, school supplies, medication) 

 Social plans and vacations 

 Anything else you need to remind yourself to do 

 
You may want to only write in your planner with a pencil so that you can easily make changes when you need to re-
arrange your schedule. Your planner will become very important to your daily life. Make sure you do not lose it, and write 
your name and phone number on it so it might be returned to you if it gets lost.  



Expert Advice: Grocery Dollar Stretchers 

Groceries are one of the few items in your monthly budget that can be at 
least a little bit flexible. However, it can be challenging to find creative 
ways to save on regular food costs. 
 
Here are some simple tips to reduce your grocery expenses: 

 Plan ahead by making your shopping list in advance. 

 Set your grocery budget, and make sure your menu and grocery 

list fit the budget. Don’t plan on roasting a chicken this week if you 

can only afford rice and beans – which, by the way, is a perfectly 

healthy and delicious dinner! 

 Plan your meals around things you already have in the cupboard 

and refrigerator – the less you need to buy, the lower your monthly 

grocery bill. 

 Shop with cash – you’ll be surprised how much less you’ll spend. 

 Look high and look low. The most expensive items are always on 

the middle of the grocery shelves. 

 Stores often place their weekly sale items at the end of aisles. 

But be careful – the advertised special might be a good buy, but a 

non-sale and more expensive item might also be placed nearby. 

 Check the store entrance for specials. Or ask the checker, or the 

store manager, if there are specials this week, and whether there 

are coupons in the local paper. 

 Only use coupons for items you would buy anyway. 

 Want to try a new product? Don't pay full price; wait for the cou-

pon. 

 Stock up on items you use frequently when they are on sale. And 

only stock up on items you know you’ll use before they go bad. 

 Shop for items BEFORE you run out of them. If you run out of an 

item, you'll have to pay whatever the store is charging that week. 

 Watch for sales on ground beef. Divide the meat into quarter-

pound and one pound batches, and freeze them in zip-lock freezer 

bags for later use. The one pound packages make a quick meatloaf 

or pasta sauce; the quarter-pound packages make a quick burger. 

 Don’t shop when you’re hungry. You’re more likely to make im-

pulse buys when your stomach’s growling and you’re in a hurry to 

eat. 

 Some stores, including Wal-Mart, will match or beat their competi-

tors’ advertised prices. This is a way for you to get the lowest price 

without running all over town. Just clip the advertisements and bring 

them with you to a store that does this, and you’ll pay the lowest 

advertised price locally for that item. 

 Avoid after-work shoppers, paydays and just before holidays. 

 Learn the sales cycle and know when to expect certain items to go 

on sale (e.g. condiments in early summer and baking supplies just 

before Christmas). 

 

Don’t think you have to buy the famous name brand you recognize. 

The supermarket’s own brand of the same item (without the attractive 

label, perhaps) is the same product and just as good. In fact, in many 

cases it is EXACTLY the same item (in the case of cereals, canned 

soups, etc.) made by that famous manufacturer for the supermarket or 

other less-known company. You’ll save a lot if you go for what’s inside, 

and not the brand name on the outside. 



Doing Laundry and Taking Care of your Clothes: 
 Sorting: Wash different colors of clothes in different loads.  

Wash a load of white clothes without other colors mixed in, in hot 
water.  Wash a load of bright clothes, with no light colored or 
white clothes mixed in, in cold water. And wash light colors, with-
out white or bright colored clothes mixed in, in warm water. 

 Loading: Check to make sure pockets are empty before wash-

ing things. This avoids stains happening during laundry. And 

don’t pack too many clothes tightly into one load or they won’t 

get clean. 

 Soap: Follow the detergent’s instructions. 

 Drying: Don’t load too many things in one drying load. Remove 

as soon as it stops to prevent really bad wrinkles. Don’t dry 

things on the hottest, fastest setting: it will make your clothes 

shrink and just cost you more money in the long run. 

 Removing stains: Try to get stains out right after they happen, 

or as soon as possible. That’s your best chance at getting them 

out. If you wait a week until you do laundry the next time, chanc-

es are it won’t come out. Try pouring club soda (sparkling water) 

on the stain immediately, so that the stain doesn’t set in to the 

fabric. 

Cleaning Supplies: 
Here is a list of the basic house cleaning tools and products you’ll want to 
stock your house with when you start out on your own: 

 Rags/sponges 

 Liquid dish wash soap 

 Dishwasher detergent (if you have a dishwasher) 

 Bar of soap 

 Broom and dustpan 

 Garbage bags 

 Toilet paper 

 Paper towels 

 Laundry detergent 

 Bucket 

 Mop 

 

Many individuals have a hard time maintaining a clean home when they first 

live on their own. For one thing, no one’s telling you what chores to do and 

when to do them anymore. Plus, you’re working hard to make ends meet, 

maybe more than one job, and maybe going to school, too. But 

“housekeeping” doesn’t happen by itself. And in fact, if you aren’t cleaning 

up after yourself pretty regularly, your place can get really messy -- and fast!! 

And it’s really hard to get back that nice, clean place you moved into once 

you’ve trashed it. Not to mention letting it get really messed up can cost you 

a lot of money when you move out, and the landlord decides to keep your 

security deposit (sometime hundreds of dollars) because he’s decided it’s so 

dirty he needs to bring in professional cleaners before he can rent it again. 

Get in the habit of cleaning one thing (or one part of the house) a little each 

day, or else thoroughly cleaning the whole house once a week. If you do 

that, it won’t ever get completely out of control, you get to live in a nice 

place, and you won’t lose a lot of money when you move out. 



Bank Accounts 
What are some good questions to 
ask before opening a bank account? 
$ Is a minimum balance required on 

the account? 
$ Can I earn interest on this ac-

count? 
$ Is there a charge for the monthly 

service for check processing? 
$ Is there a charge for printing 

checks? 
$ Is there a charge for putting a stop 

payment on a check? 
$ Is there a fee to use the automated teller machine 

or to get a banking agent’s assistance by phone? 
$ Are the cancelled checks returned or kept at the 

bank? 
 
What happens if my check bounces? 
If you write a check for more than the amount you have 
in your checking account, the bank may handle it a cou-
ple of ways. The bank may return the check to the per-
son who attempted to cash it. That person may notify 
you and charge you up to three times the amount of the 
check in penalties, but not less than $100 or more than 
$500.00. (N.R.S. 41.620)  Note: Writing a check when 
you don’t have enough money in your account to pay it 
may be a crime. (N.R.S. 205.130)  Or the bank may pay 
the check (and require you to make a deposit to cover 
the difference (N.R.S. 104.4401) and charge you a fee 
or a penalty if applicable under the terms of the check-
ing agreement. 
 
Note: Banks do not have to cash checks that were dat-
ed more than six months before being presented to the 
bank.  (N.R.S. 104.4404) 
 
How long does it take for a check to clear? 
The process could be virtually instantaneous. Some 
merchants now use electronic check conversion. This 
allows the sales clerk to pass your check through a ma-
chine and immediately transfer the funds from your 
bank account electronically. (The actual check may be 
returned to you on the spot by the merchant.) In addi-
tion, new laws now allow banks to process check pay-
ments electronically even before the actual check is 
returned to your bank for payment. Gone are the days 
when a check-writer could count on a delay in pro-
cessing. For more information on the Check Clearing 
for the 21st Century Act, go to www.federalreserve.gov/
pubs/check21/consumer_guide.htm 
 

 
What is the difference between an ATM card and a 
debit card? 
An Automated Teller Machine (ATM) card can be used 
for basic banking – to deposit funds into your bank ac-
count or withdraw money. You simply insert your card 
into an ATM and enter a personal identification num-
ber. If the transaction will include any surcharges or 
fees, you must be informed and given an opportunity 
to cancel the transaction with out charge. 
 
A debit card is used to electronically transfer funds 
from the cardholder’s account. You could use it, for 
example, to buy groceries at a supermarket. Be care-
ful, however, when carrying or using such a card. The 
user generally does not need a personal identification 
number to access your account. So, a thief could take 
your card shopping and empty your bank account. 
 
Like writing a check without sufficient monies in your 
account, if you use your debit card without sufficient 
monies in your account the bank may return the re-
quest for payment to the person who attempted to col-
lect funds. That person may notify you and charge you 
up to three times the amount of the debit in penalties, 
but not less than $100 or more than $500.00. (N.R.S. 
41.620)  Note: Using a debit card when you don’t have 
enough money in your account to pay it may be a 
crime. (N.R.S. 205.130) 
 

http://www.federalreserve.gov/pubs/check21/consumer_guide.htm
http://www.federalreserve.gov/pubs/check21/consumer_guide.htm


How long does it take to fix bad credit? 
It depends on the seriousness of your past prob-
lems. The files could go back seven years or ten 
years; however, the reporting agency shall purge 
and not disclose bankruptcies older than ten years 
or civil judgments, criminal proceedings or other 
adverse information older than seven years, un-
less provided by a specific statute. (N.R.S. 
598C.150)  You may obtain your file to review 
what has been collected from your credit history. 
(N.R.S. 598C.130) If adverse action is taken 
against a consumer based on a consumer report 
from a reporting agency, the consumer must be 
notified of the adverse action, the name of the re-
porting agency and informed of the right to obtain 
a copy of the consumer report from the reporting 
agency. (N.R.S. 598C.170)  If a credit report con-
tains mistakes, you have the right to ask for cor-
rections. Remember, the request must be in writ-
ing. (See N.R.S. 598C.160) 

Credit 
Why not use a credit card instead of checks 
or cash? 
There’s nothing wrong with using a credit card, 
as long as it is you controlling the card and not 
the other way around. Credit cards are not the 
same as cash – you may have to pay annual 
fees and other charges to use them. With some, 
you could even be charged interest for the time 
period between your purchases and your pay-
ment – even if you pay your bill in full. Bank and 
retailers set the interest and finance charges. 
Charges and fees vary, so pay careful attention 
to interest rates, fees, and policies regarding 
how those fees are calculated.  
 
What should I do if I lose a credit card? 
Report the loss or theft immediately to the bank 
or company that issued the credit card. If you 
report the loss promptly, you will not be held re-
sponsible for more than $50 of unauthorized 
charges on the card. (NRS 97A.150, citing there-
in 11 U.S.C. §1643) 
 
What is a credit report? 
A credit report is a summary of your debts and a 
history of how promptly you have paid your bills, 
your credit worthiness, credit standing and credit 
capacity. The information comes from the com-
panies where you have credit accounts and from 
public court records. It is collected and stored by 
companies, often called credit bureaus, which 
make the information available to creditors 
whenever you apply for a loan or credit card. 
(N.R.S. 598C.060) 
 
Under a new federal law, you have the right to 
one free credit report every 12 months from each 
of three major credit-reporting agencies. Check 
your reports for inaccurate data that could hurt 
your ability to get credit or a loan. Also, incorrect 
information can be a red flag that someone is 
using your identity to get credit without your 
knowledge.  
 

Payday Loans 
“I just need enough cash to tide me over until 
payday.” 
Sounds tempting right?  You hear the ads on the 
radio and see them on television, the Internet, 
even in the mail. Check cashers, finance compa-
nies and others are making small, short-term, high-
rate loans that go by a variety of names: payday 
loans, cash advance loans, check advance loans, 
post-dated check loans or deferred deposit check 
loans. 
 
Usually, a borrower writes a personal check paya-
ble to the lender for the amount he or she wishes 
to borrow plus a fee. In some cases, you can use 
your car or other property to secure the loan. The 
company gives the borrower the amount of the 
check minus the fee. Fees charged for payday 
loans are usually a percentage of the face value of 
the check or a fee charged per amount borrowed - 
say, for every $50 or $100 loaned. And, if you ex-
tend or “roll-over” the loan - say for another two 
weeks - you will pay the fees for each extension. 
 
A cash advance loan secured by a personal check 
- such as a payday loan - is very expensive credit. 
Let’s say you write a personal check for $115 to 
borrow $100 for up to 14 days. The check casher 
or payday lender agrees to hold the check until 
your next payday. At that time, depending on the 
particular plan, the lender deposits the check, you 
redeem the check by paying the $115 in cash, or 
you roll-over the check by paying a fee to extend 
the loan for another two weeks. In this example, 
the cost of the initial loan is a $15 finance charge 
and 391 percent Annual Percentage Rate (APR). If 
you roll-over the loan three times, the finance 
charge would climb to $60 to borrow $100.  



WHAT IS IDENTITY THEFT?   

Identity theft is a form of fraud in which someone 
pretends to be someone else by assuming that per-

son's identity, typically in order to access resources 
or obtain credit and other benefits in that person's 

name. The victim of identity theft (here meaning the 

person whose identity has been assumed by the 
identity thief) can suffer adverse consequences if he 

or she is held accountable for the perpetrator's ac-
tions. Organizations and individuals who are duped 

or defrauded by the identity thief can also suffer ad-
verse consequences and losses, and to that extent 

are also victims. 

 
WHY WOULD SOMEONE WANT TO STEAL MY 

IDENTITY? 
Criminals seek teen identities because the theft can 

go undetected for years. A teen’s credit sits unused 

until he or she is old enough to obtain a credit card 
or a consumer loan. A criminal steals a teen’s social 

security number, impersonates the teen to obtain 
credit cards and loans, and does not make payments, 

resulting in a low credit rating. The fraud often goes 
undetected until the student attempts to obtain cred-

it. 

 
HOW DO I PROTECT MYSELF?  

Hopefully you will never become a victim of identity 
theft.  To prevent identity theft from happening to 

you, here are some helpful tips: 

 Order your credit report: 

Regularly monitoring your credit report is the 
most important step you can take to safeguard 

your credit and limit the harm an identity thief 
might cause. 

Nevadan’s can obtain a FREE copy of their credit 
reports compiled by each of the three national 

credit reporting agencies.  A federal law entitles 

you to one free copy of your credit report from 
each credit report agency every twelve months.  

If you stagger your requests, you can monitor 
your credit record as often as every four months 

at absolutely no cost to you.  Keep in mind how-

ever, there is only one authorized source to get a  

free credit report under federal law.  Just go to 

www.annualcreditreport.com, call toll-free at: 
(877) 322-8228, or write to: 

Annual Credit Report 
P.O. Box 105281 

Atlanta, Georgia 30348-5281. 

 Never give out personal or financial information 
over the phone. 

 Thoroughly review all financial statements for any 

unusual activity.  Immediately contact the company 

if an item looks suspicious. 
 Shred or destroy credit card statements, bills, in-

surance papers, or bank statements before throw-

ing them out. 
 When making a credit card purchase, ask for the 

carbons if the retailer is not using carbonless 

forms. 
 Carry only one or two credit cards in your wallet. 

 Cancel all unused credit card accounts. 

 Ask about information security procedures in your 

workplace.  Find out who has access to your per-

sonal information and verify that records are kept 
in a secure location.  Ask about the disposal proce-

dures for those records as well. 

 Do not carry your Social Security Card in your wal-

let. 
 If you think an identity thief is using your Social 

Security number, call the Social Security Fraud Hot-

line at: (800) 269-0271. 
 Remove your name from the marketing list of cred-

it-reporting agencies by calling the Credit Reporting 

Industry opt-out phone number at:  
 (888) 567-8688. 

 Remove your name from mailing lists by contacting 

the Direct Marketing Association at:  

 Mail Preference Service 
 Attention Department 9301235 

 Direct Marketing Association 
 P. O. Box 643 

 Carmel, NY 10512 
 Be wary of anyone calling to “confirm” personal or 

financial information.  Often, these are criminals 

trying to obtain those facts under the guise of 

“confirmation”. 

http://www.annualcreditreport.com/


 Release your Social Security number only when 

absolutely necessary or when required by law. 

 When creating passwords and PINS, do not use 
anything that could be discovered easily by 

thieves.  

 Memorize all your passwords and PINS. 

 Keep a list or photocopy of all your credit cards, 

so you can quickly contact your creditors in case 
your cards are stolen or lost.  Do the same with 

bank accounts. 
 Never toss ATM and credit card receipts in a public 

trash container. 

 Watch the mail when you are expecting a new 

credit card.  Immediately contact the issuer if the 
credit card does not arrive. 

 Avoid paying by credit card if you think the busi-

ness does not use adequate safeguards to protect 

your personal information. 
 Be careful before you use a credit card or supply 

personal information online. 

 
HOW DO I FIND OUT IF SOMEONE IS USING MY 

IDENTITY? 
 Go to www.annualcreditreport.com to find 

out. A free copy of your credit report is available 

once a year. 

 Students who have not used their social security 
numbers to obtain credit should have no credit 

report. 

 If a student does have a credit report, aliases, 

incorrect residential addresses and unauthorized 
accounts are indicators of identity theft. 

 You may also be a victim of identity theft if you 

find unauthorized charges on your credit card 
statement, unauthorized withdrawals on your 

bank accounts, or unauthorized long-distance calls 
on your phone bill. 

 

WHAT TO DO IF I AM A VICTIM OF IDENTITY 
THEFT? 

 Contact the credit reporting agencies: 

 www.experian.com 
 www.equifax.com 

 www.transunion.com  

to place fraud alerts on your accounts and analyze 
credit reports.  Fraud alerts can help prevent an 

identity thief from opening any more accounts in 
your name.  Once you request a fraud alert, you 

are entitled to free credit reports.  Check these 
regularly to ensure there is no new fraudulent 

activity. 

 Close the accounts that you know or believe have 

been tampered with or opened fraudulently. 
 Contact someone in the security or fraud depart-

ment in each company.  Follow-up in writing by 

mail or email to each bank or credit card company 
and keep copies of these letters.  If an identity 

thief has made charges to your account, ask the   

company to send you the correct forms to dispute 

these charges. 
 File a report with your local law enforcement 

agency and apply for a Nevada Identity Theft 

Passport.  After completing the application pro-
cess, a victim may receive a secured, personalized 

identification card which can be used to alert law 
enforcement and creditors about fraudulent activi-

ty.  This program will give you more credibility 

when dealing with creditors and potentially law 
enforcement to clean up bad activity that may 

have been committed by the person who used 
your personal information.  For more information 

or questions about the Nevada Identity Theft 

Passport program, please call (877) 213-5227 
or send and email to idtheft@ag.nv.gov. 

 Contact the Federal Trade Commission at 

www.ftc.org to register a complaint.  By sharing 
your identity theft complaint with the FTC, you 

will provide important information that can help 
law enforcement officials across the nation track 

down identity thieves and stop them. 

 
SURFING THE INTERNET 

Don’t give out personal information about yourself, 
your family situation, your school, your telephone 

number, or your address on the Internet. Criminals 

look for victims on the Internet because it is an unsu-
pervised environment where they can hide their iden-

tity and be anyone they want.  
When communicating with someone you meet online, 

remember not everyone may be who they say they 
are.  For example a person who says “she” is a 13-

year-old girl from California may really be a 50-year-

old man from New York. 
 

IS IT EVER AGAINST THE LAW TO DOWNLOAD 
INFORMATION OFF OF THE INTERNET?  
It is illegal to download certain information, pictures 

and music. The creation, possession or distribution of 
child pornography (any image portraying sexual con-

duct by minors) is a crime.  (NRS 200.710.730) The 
unauthorized use or duplication of copyrighted materi-

als by downloading them off the Internet can also car-

ry criminal and civil penalties. (17 U.S.C. § 1 et seq.) 

http://www.annualcreditreport.com/


Alcohol and Drugs 
How old do I have to be to drink or pur-
chase alcohol? 
You must be at least 21 years old to purchase or drink alco-
hol in Nevada. (NRS 202.020) Even if your parents or other 
adults provide or allow you to consume alcohol, Nevada law 
prohibits you from doing so before you are 21 years old.  
 

What happens if I use a false ID to buy al-
cohol? 
You can be guilty of a misdemeanor for false representation 
of your age. (NRS 202.040) Misdemeanors are punishable by 
a fine up to $1,000.00 or being sent to jail for up to 6 months. 
(NRS 193.120) 
 

Is it a crime to give alco-
hol to someone who is 
under 21 years old? 
Yes. You can be guilty of a misde-
meanor for providing or selling alco-
hol to anyone under 21 years old, 
even if you are over 21 years old 
yourself. (NRS 202.055). And any-
one under 21 years old can be guilty 
of a misdemeanor for purchasing, 
possessing or consuming alcohol. 
(NRS 202.020) In Sparks, it is illegal 
to provide liquor to a person if he or 
she is already intoxicated, even if 
that person is 21 years or older. 
(SMC 9.36.020) 
 

Is it OK to drink alcohol in public or in a 
park? 
No. Even if you are 21 years old, you cannot drink alcohol in 
public or in a park, unless there is a park or recreational facili-
ty permit that allows alcohol on the premises. (RMC 8.12.033; 
RMC 8.23.120; SMC 9.36.010)  
 

Can I have an open beer can in my car, 
even if I am not drinking it? 
No. You cannot have any open containers of alcohol in the 
vehicle, even if you are not drinking. This means that you 
may be arrested or cited, even if you are driving, and some-
one else in the car has an open container of alcohol. (NRS 
484.448; RMC 6.06.320)  
 

What happens if I am caught drinking and 
driving? What are the penalties for a DUI? 
Nevada’s legal limit of alcohol is 0.08 for driving under the 
influence or DUI. (NRS 484.3795; RMC 6.06.335) Even 
though you may not feel intoxicated, you may still register 
over the legal limit after only a couple of drinks.  
 
The first DUI is punishable as a misdemeanor. (NRS 
484.3792; RMC 6.06.336) Misdemeanors are punishable up 
to 6 months in jail and a $1,000.00 fine. (NRS 193.120) The 
minimum penalties for a first offense are two days in jail or 48 
hours of community service, a $400 fine, $70 in court cost, a 

$60 chemical test fee, and a DUI education course including a man-
datory victim impact panel. If your blood alcohol level was 0.18 or 
more or if you are under the age of 21, then you will be required to 
have a mandatory alcohol evaluation. You will lose your driver’s li-
cense for 3 months. (NRS 484.385) 
 
The second DUI within seven years also constitutes a misdemeanor. 
You will be required to pay a fine of $750, or the equivalent amount of 
community service hours, and serve a minimum of 10 days and up to 
6 months in jail. You can lose your driver’s license for a year. 
 
The third DUI within seven years is a felony, carrying one to six years 
in prison and a $2,000.00 to $5,000.00 fine. (NRS 484.3792) You can 

lose your driver’s license for three years. 
 
Penalties will be more severe, including a 
mandatory prison term, if your drunk driv-
ing causes substantial bodily harm to an-
other person, including injury to any pas-
senger in your own vehicle.  
 

Do I have to take a field so-
briety test if asked to do so 
by the police officer? 
No. You are not legally required to submit 
to a field sobriety test such as the walk 
and turn, one leg stand and horizontal 
gaze.  
 

Am I required to submit to a 
breathalyzer or blood test? 
If you are asked to take a breathalyzer or 

blood test because the police officer has reasonable grounds to be-
lieve you are under the influence, you must choose one or the other. 
If you refuse to take a test, then the police officer may use reasonable 
force to obtain a blood sample from you. (NRS. 484.382; NRS 
484.383) You may also be found to be in actual physical control of a 
car even if it is parked and you are not actually driving. The moral of 
the story is to avoid any motor vehicle if you are intoxicated.  
 

Buzz Driving is Drunk Driving 

Police warn driving while buzzed can be as 
dangerous as driving when legally drunk. 
You've heard the ads, — “Buzz driving is 
drunk driving.” Many law enforcement agen-
cies, including University Police, are taking 
the slogan seriously. “Just because you 
don’t blow a 0.08, you can still be taken to 
jail.” 
 
.08 is the blood alcohol level that deems a 
person legally drunk. But Nevada law allows 
officers to take you in even if your level is 
below that. The law describes intoxication as 
“not having the normal use of mental or 
physical faculties by reason of alcohol or 
other substances”. Simply put, if you look 
like you can’t drive your vehicle or may hurt 
someone doing so, you could be heading to 
the slammer.  



What is the drug possession law? 
Federal and state drug possession laws make it a crime to 
willfully possess illegal controlled substances such as marijua-
na, methamphetamine, cocaine, LSD, "club drugs," and hero-
in. These laws also criminalize the possession of "precursor" 
chemicals used in drug cultivation and manufacturing, as well 
as certain accessories related to drug use. Drug possession 
laws vary according to drug type, amount, and geographic 
area of the offense. Possession of small quantities may be 
deemed "simple" possession, while possession of large 
amounts may result in a charge of presumed "possession with 
intent to distribute." 
 

What can happen if I am arrested for pos-
session of illegal drugs? 
It is unlawful to use or possess controlled substances. It is a 
felony, except for marijuana (see below). (NRS 453.336; NRS 
453.411; RMC 8.17.010) It is also unlawful to possess drug 
paraphernalia, which is a misdemeanor. (NRS 453.566; RMC 
8.17.010; SMC 9.21.010) 
 
Possession of one ounce of marijuana is a misdemeanor (NRS 
453.336). You can be fined $600 and ordered to substance 
abuse treatment. Second offense is still a misdemeanor, with a 
$1,000.00 fine and you can be ordered to substance abuse 
treatment. Third offense is a gross misdemeanor. Fourth of-
fense is a felony.  

 

What can happen if I am arrested for selling 
illegal drugs? 
Any possession, selling, manufacturing or transporting of a 
controlled substance over four grams is considered drug traf-
ficking. Possession for personal use is not an exception to the 
law. (NRS 453.321; NRS 453.3385) You face a fine of up to 
$50,000 and a mandatory prison sentence between one year 
to life. 
 

Is it worse if I sell illegal drugs at a school? 
Yes. The prison time may be doubled for selling illegal con-
trolled substances at schools, playgrounds, public parks or 
recreational facilities for minors. (NRS 453.3345)  

 

If I use steroids to pump up my muscles, 
am I breaking the law? 
Yes. Steroids are defined as a controlled substance. (NRS 
453.146)  

Drugs Effects 
Illegal drugs aren't good for anyone, but 
they are particularly bad for a kid or teen 
whose body is still growing. Illegal drugs 
can damage the brain, heart, and other 
important organs. Cocaine, for instance, 
can cause a heart attack — even in a kid 

or teen. 
 
While using drugs, a person is also less 
able to do well in school, sports, and other 
activities. It's often harder to think clearly 
and make good decisions. People can do 
dumb or dangerous things that could hurt 
themselves — or other people — when 
they use drugs. 

If you or someone you know suffers from substance or alcohol abuse, you may find in-
tervention, recovery and treatment programs by linking to the Division of Mental Health 
and Developmental Services Substance Abuse and Prevention Agency website at: 
 

http://mhds.nv.gov/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=108&Itemid=95  

Are date rape drugs illegal? 
Yes. You can be found guilty of two crimes for using date rape 
drugs on someone without their knowledge. One is using the 
drug to aid in the crime and the other is sexual assault. (NRS 
200.408) Just using the drug in this manner is punishable for 
one to twenty years in prison.  

 
Is huffing illegal? 
Yes. Using any drug, chemical, poison or organic solvent to get 
high is a misdemeanor. (NRS 454.346) 

 

Can I share my prescription pain medication 
with my friends? 
No. Nevada law prohibits you from giving your prescription drug 
to someone else, which is a felony. (NRS 453.256) Prescription 
drugs are considered a controlled substance.  

http://mhds.nv.gov/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=108&Itemid=95


There may come a time when you 
will need an attorney.  To find one, 
ask a friend or business associate for 
a referral.  For an online list of ser-
vices, visit the State Bar of Nevada’s 
Website at nvbar.org.  Also Lawyer 
Referral & Information Services pro-
vides an In-State telephone number: 
(800) 789-5747, or you can call from 
out-of-state: (702) 382-0504 to ob-
tain the name and telephone number 
of an attorney in your area.  If you do 
decide to hire a lawyer, make sure 
you understand what services he or 
she actually will provide, how much it 
will cost, and when you must pay the 
bills.   
 
If you have been accused of a crime 
and cannot afford a lawyer, you may 
qualify for free help from the public 
defender’s office or a court-
appointed private attorney.  In civil 
matters, individuals with low and 
moderate income may qualify for no-
cost help from a legal services pro-
gram.  LawHelp is a nationwide legal 
service. Nevada Legal Services web-
site is NevadaLawHelp.org.  It can 
help you locate a program in your ar-
ea.    

1. State Bar of Nevada 
    State Bar of Nevada................................ (702) 382-2200 
    Toll free in Nevada...................................(800) 254-2797 
 
    Resources for the public....................................nvbar.org 
    Consumer pamphlets online........... nvbar.org/pamphlets 
 
2. Clark County Legal Services 
     Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada....(702) 386-1070 
     LACSN Online..........................................www.lacsn.org 
 
3. Washoe Legal Services 
    Washoe Legal Services.......................... (775) 329-2727 
    WLS online............................... washoelegalservices.org 
 
4. Nevada Legal Services 
    Nevada Legal Services Toll free..............(800) 323-8666 
    Carson City..............................................(775) 883-0404 
 
5. Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans 
    VARN Toll free........................................ (886) 448-8276 
    Carson City............................................. (775) 883-8278 
 
 

 

Finding Legal Help 

http://www.nvbar.org
http://www.nvbar.org/pamphlets
http://www.washoelegalservices.org


Additional copies of this publication may be obtained by contacting the 
Division of Child and Family Services at the following address: 

 
Division of Child and Family Services 

4126 Technology Way, 3rd Floor 
Carson City, Nevada 89706 

(775) 684-4400 
http://www.dcfs.state.nv.us 
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