FAMILY FIRST PREVENTION SERVICES ACT
EXCEPTIONS FOR THE USE OF CONGREGATE CARE OR ROTATING STAFF HOMES
& QRTP REQUIRMENTS

With the passage of the 2018 Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA), the federal government now only
recognizes two types of foster care placements to be reimbursable under Federal Title IV-E. These placement
types include a foster family home and, in very limited circumstance, a child care institution. Currently, there is
a national consensus that all children and youth, especially infants and toddlers, do best when living with
families. When children must enter child welfare custody, the focus of FFPSA is to place children in “foster family
homes.” Additionally, with the passage of FFPSA, there is a significant reduction in a child welfare agency’s
incentive to continue to use congregate care settings as a typical placement option for children in foster care.

FFPSA incentivizes states to reduce placement of children in congregate care by placing certain limitations on
federal funding reimbursement through conveying specific expectations within the law for the provision of
guality congregate care settings.

FFPSA Federal Definitions

Foster Family Home Child Care Institution

“(A) IN GENERAL—The term ‘foster family home’ means “(A) IN GENERAL—The term “child-care institution” means a
the home of an individual or family— private child-care institution, or a public child-care institution
which accommodates no more than 25 children, which is
licensed by the State in which it is situated or has been
approved by the agency of the State responsible for licensing
or approval of institutions of this type as meeting the
“(ii) in which a child in foster care has been placed in standards established for the licensing.

the care of an individual, who resides with the child and
who has been licensed or approved by the State to be a
foster parent—

“(i) that is licensed or approved by the State in which it
is situated as a foster family home that meets the
standards established for the licensing or approval; and

“(B) SUPERVISED SETTINGS—In the case of a child who has
attained 18 years of age, the term shall include a supervised
setting in which the individual is living independently, in

“(1) that the State deems capable of adhering to the accordance with such conditions as the Secretary shall
reasonable and prudent parent standard; establish in regulations.

“(l) that provides 24-hour substitute care for “(C) EXCLUSIONS—The term shall not include detention facilities,
children placed away from their parents or other forestry camps, training schools, or any other facility operated
caretakers; and primarily for the detention of children who are determined to

“(lll) that provides the care for not more than six be delinquent.

children in foster care.

Anything that does NOT meet the FFPSA definition for foster
family home is federally considered a child care institution (CCl).
A Nevada group home (over 6 children) or rotating staff home
(any amount of children) now meets the FFPSA definition for a

“(B) STATE FLEXIBILITY—The number of foster children
that may be cared for in a home under subparagraph (A)
may exceed the numerical limitation in subparagraph
(A)(ii)(lll), at the option of the State, for any of the

following reasons: ccl.
“(i) To allow a parenting youth in foster care to remain Unless the Nevada CCl meets one of the four (4) exceptions for
with the child of the parenting youth. a CClI within the FFPSA, the CCI will only be eligible for 14 days
“(ii) To allow siblings to remain together. of reimbursement through Federal Title IV-E for foster care
’ costs.

“(iii) To allow a child with an established meaningful

relationship with the family to remain with the family. Title IV-E is the PRIMARY federal funding

“(iv) To allow a family with special training or skills to source for Nevada foster care costs
provide care to a child who has a severe disability.
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What EXCEPTIONS are there for child care institutions (CCl) to be eligible for more than 14 days of Title
IV-E foster care reimbursement?

Non-Specialized CCl: a foster care setting that provides foster care through a congregate care or
rotating staff model. Child welfare agencies may claim 14 days of title IV-E foster care cost
reimbursement. (No exception)

Prenatal, Post-partum, or Parenting Youth CCl: a setting specializing in providing prenatal, post-
partum, or parenting supports for youth. The facility must meet the FFPSA definition of a CCI.
(Exception)

Sex Trafficking Victims / At-Risk of Becoming Sex Trafficking Victims CCl: a setting providing high-
quality residential care and supportive services to children and youth who have been found to be, or
are at risk of becoming, sex trafficking victims as identified by the child welfare agency. The facility
must meet the definition of a CCl. (Exception)

Supervised Independent Living CCI (age 218 custody youth): a supervised setting in which the child
is living independently (in the case of a child who has attained 18 years of age). (Exception)

Qualified Residential Treatment Program (QRTP):* a QRTP facility is a specific category of a non-
foster family home setting, for which title IV-E agencies must meet detailed assessment, trauma
informed programming, registered or licensed nursing personnel and other licensed clinical staff,
case planning, documentation, discharge supports, judicial determinations and ongoing review and
permanency hearing requirements for a child to be placed in and continue to be eligible for title IV-
E foster care reimbursement for the placement. The facility must also meet the definition of a CCI.
Further, it must be accredited by one of the independent, not-for-profit organizations such as COA,
CARF, or Joint Commission. (Exception)

*See detailed QRTP requirements (attached)

To maximize their business model, it is important for higher level-of-care foster care agencies/providers to
fully understand the recent changes to foster care reimbursement under the federal FFPSA. Foster care
agencies/providers whose facilities currently meet the FFPSA definition for a CCl, have an essential business
decision to make; either to meet one of the four (4) CCl exception categories listed above or make changes
to conform to a foster family home model per the FFPSA definition. When Nevada initiates implementation
of the FFPSA requirements, foster care agencies/providers who continue to meet the definition for a non-
specialized CCl will only qualify for 14 days of foster care that is eligible for Title IV-E reimbursement.
Therefore, Nevada child welfare agencies cannot make any guarantee to a non-specialized CCl that children
placed there will remain beyond 14 days or that new children will be placed initially if there is a Title IV-E
eligible, longer-term placement option available.
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Qualified Residential Treatment Program (QRTP) Requirements

QRTP Requirements: A QRTP must be a program that:

has a trauma-informed treatment model that is designed to address the needs, including clinical needs, of
children with serious emotional or behavioral disorders or disturbances and, with respect to a child, is
able to implement the treatment identified for the child by the required 30-day assessment (described
below) of the appropriateness of the QRTP placement;

to extent appropriate, and in accordance with the child’s best interests, facilitates participation of
family members in the child’s treatment program;

facilitates outreach to the family members of the child, including siblings, documents how the

outreach is made (including contact information), and maintains contact information for any known
biological family and fictive kin of the child;

documents how family members are integrated into the treatment process for the child, including post-
discharge, and how sibling connections are maintained;

provides discharge planning and family-based aftercare support for at least 6 months post-discharge;

is licensed in accordance with Federal Title IV-E foster care requirements and is accredited by any of

the following independent, not-for-profit organizations: The Commission on Accreditation of
Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF), the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
(JCAHO), the Council on Accreditation (COA), or any other independent, not-for-profit accrediting
organization approved by Federal HHS; and

has registered or licensed nursing staff and other licensed clinical staff who provide care within the scope
of their practice as defined by state/tribal law, are on-site according to the treatment model, and are
available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. The Act indicates that this requirement shall not be construed
as requiring a QRTP to acquire nursing and behavioral health staff solely through means of a direct
employer to employee relationship.

QRTP Placement Requirement — 30-day Assessment of the Appropriateness of a QRTP Placement:

IM

A “qualified individual” must assess a child to determine the appropriateness of a placement in a QRTP for
purposes of approving the case plan and the case system review procedure for the child (see described
below).

If the assessment is not completed within 30 days after the placement is made, the placement become
ineligible for Title IV-E foster care reimbursement beyond the 30 days. There is no future recourse for
the placement to become eligible for Title IV-E once this 30-day deadline is missed.

A “qualified individual” is defined as a trained professional or licensed clinician who is not an employee of
the agency, and who is not connected to, or affiliated with, any placement setting in which children are
placed by the agency. The “qualified individual” must:

o assess the strengths and needs of the child using an age-appropriate, evidence-based,
validated, functional assessment tool that is federally approved;

o determine whether the needs of the child can be met with family members or through placement
in a foster family home or, if not, which allowable CCl setting would provide the most effective and
appropriate level of care for the child in the least restrictive environment and be consistent with
the short- and long-term goals for the child, as specified in the permanency plan for the child;

o develop a list of child-specific short- and long-term mental and behavioral health goals; and

o work in conjunction with the child’s family and permanency team (further described below)
while conducting and making the required 30-day assessment.

If the “qualified individual” determines the child should not be placed in a foster family home, the
gualified individual must specify in writing:

o the reasons why the child’s needs can’t be met by the family or in a foster family home (a
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shortage of foster family homes is not an acceptable reason for
determining the child’s needs cannot be met in a foster family home); and

o why the recommended placement in a QRTP is the setting that will provide the child with the
most effective and appropriate level of care in the least restrictive environment and how that
placement is consistent with the short- and long-term goals for the child, as specified in the
permanency plan for the child.

QRTP Placement Requirement — Family and Permanency Team Requirements: The agency must assemble a family
and permanency team for the child placed in the QRTP in accordance with specified requirements.

The team must consist of all appropriate biological family members, relative, and fictive kin of the child, as
well as professionals (as appropriate) who are a resource to the family of the child, such as teachers,
medical or mental health providers who have treated the child, or clergy.

If the child is age 14 or older, the team must also include the members of the permanency planning team for
the child that are selected by the child in accordance with the title IV-E case planning requirements.

QRTP Placement Requirement — Case Plan Requirements: For a child placed in a QRTP, the child welfare agency
must document the following in the child’s case plan:

the reasonable and good faith effort of the agency to identify and include all the individuals

required to be on the child’s family and permanency team;

all contact information for members of the family and permanency team, as well as contact

information for other family members and fictive kin who are not part of the family and permanency
team;

evidence that meetings of the family and permanency team, including meetings relating to the required
30-day assessment of the appropriateness of the QRTP placement, are held at a time and place
convenient for family;

if reunification is the goal, evidence demonstrating that the parent from whom the child was removed
provided input on the members of the family and permanency team;

evidence that the required 30-day assessment to determine the appropriateness of the QRTP is
determined in conjunction with the family and permanency team;

the placement preferences of the family and permanency team relative to the required 30-day assessment
that recognizes children should be placed with their siblings unless there is a finding by the court that such
placement is contrary to their best interest;

if the placement preferences of the family and permanency team and child are not the placement setting
recommended by the qualified individual conducting the required 30-day assessment of the
appropriateness of the QRTP, the reasons why the preferences of the team and of the child were not
recommended; and

the written recommendation by the qualified individual regarding the appropriateness of the QRTP
placement and the court approval or disapproval of the QRTP placement.

QRTP Placement Requirement — 60-day Court Approval: Within 60 days of the start of each placement in a QRTP,
the dependency court of jurisdiction must:

consider the required 30-day assessment of the appropriateness of the QRTP, and documentation
made by the qualified individual conducting the assessment;

determine whether the needs of the child can be met through placement in a foster family home or, if not,
whether placement of the child in a QRTP provides the most effective and appropriate level of care for the
child in the least restrictive environment and whether that placement is consistent with the short- and long-
term goals for the child, as specified in the permanency plan for the child; and

approve or disapprove the placement. Such approval or disapproval must be documented in the case plan.
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QRTP Placement Requirement — Ongoing Review and Permanency Hearing Requirements: As long as a child
remains placed in a QRTP, the child welfare agency shall submit evidence at each status review and each permanency
hearing held for the child:

e demonstrating that ongoing assessment of the strengths and needs of the child continues to support the
determination that the needs of the child cannot be met through placement in a foster family home, that
the placement in a QRTP provides the most effective and appropriate level of care for the child in the least
restrictive environment, and that the placement is consistent with the short- and long-term goals for the
child, as specified in the permanency plan for the child;

e documenting the specific treatment or service needs that will be met for the child in the placement and
the length of time the child is expected to need the treatment or services; and

e documenting the efforts made by the agency to prepare the child to return home or to be placed with a fit
and willing relative, a legal guardian, or an adoptive parent, or in a foster family home.

Additional reporting requirements for extended QRTP placements: If a child welfare agency places a child in a
QRTP for more than 12 consecutive months, or 18 nonconsecutive months, or, in the case of a child who has not
attained age 13, for more than six consecutive or nonconsecutive months, the child welfare agency must submit to
Federal HHS:
e the most recent versions of the evidence and documentation submitted for the most recent status review
or permanency hearing; and
e the signed approval of the Administrator of the Division of Child and Family Services for the continued
placement of the child in that setting.

Funding during transition out of QRTP:

e The child’s placement continues to be Title IV-E eligible in the QRTP, during the period necessary for a child
to transition out of a QRTP, for up to 30 days from the date a determination is made that the placement is
no longer the recommended or approved placement for the child when:

o therequired 30-day assessment determines that the QRTP placement is not appropriate;

o a court disapproves the QRTP; or

o a child is going to return home or be placed with a fit and willing relative, a legal guardian, or an
adoptive parent, or in a foster family home.
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